Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

High School: Science: Finding Books

Use Catalogs to Find Books & Videos

Research@UWW contains records of library holdings, such as books, videos, and government documents. It provides the call number and location, which are needed to find these materials in the Library.

To find articles within Reference books, use Reference Universe . Click on the book title in Reference Universe  to find the location and call number in Research@UWW.

Access Research@UWW from any Library webpage by selecting Books from the Find menu, then clicking on Research@UWW. Alternatively, use the center search box or access via the left sidebar link on the Library homepage.

Briefly, it is worthwhile to be both comprehensive and detailed when searching. Be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "and" to combine different ideas together.

Sample Basic searches:

   "yellow fever" and epidemic*

   tuberculosis and treat*

The most common locations to find books you will use are:

  • Main and Main Oversize Collections - Third Floor
  • Reference Collection - Second Floor behind Reference Desk

Book Stack Directory

Find Books on ShelvesWant to know where your book is located in the stacks of the Main or Main Oversize Collection? You can look it up on this Book Stack Directory with map.

Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Research@UWW Books & Media search button

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, and more at UW-Whitewater.


Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.

Ebook Central Search

Ebook Central, is a large ebook database subscribed to by the Andersen Library. It contains over 120,000 online books on a wide variety of topics. Search it by typing your query in the box below.