High School: Science: Finding Articles

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, which you can use as long as you are on the UW-Whitewater campus. These are some good ones to start with: 

• Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)   
  Covers 1,200 core English-language scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
• American Chemical Society Journals    
  Full Text and images of the 40+ journals published by the American Chemical Society.
• Biological Abstracts (Institute for Scientific Information)  
  Indexing and abstracts of journals in the biological sciences.
• BioOne  
  Aggregation of high impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
• EBSCO Medical Databases  
  Use this link to search EBSCO's medical databases, like MEDLINE and CINAHL.
• Environment Complete (EBSCOhost)   
  Environment Complete offers content in the applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science,geography, pollution & waste management, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 680 journals and provides full text for 120 monographs.
• GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)   
  GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
• Institute of Physics Electronic Journals  
  Full text of all 33 of the Institute of Physics journals. Off campus users can use the site but do not have access to the full text of articles. Searching across the contents of the journals is possible. References with each article include links to available IOP articles as well as to INSPEC abstracts.
• Nature  
  This site is a gateway to all Nature-titled journals and sites for all levels of visitors. It provides full text services to the weekly printed edition of Nature, and an extensive range of content and other services are available.
• ProQuest Newsstand
  Offers articles from 700 major U.S. and international newspapers. A good place to search for a popular perspective on science-related news.
• Sage Premier Journals Online  
  SAGE Premier provides electronic access to more than 500 peer-reviewed, full-text journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. (94,000+ articles).
• Science Citation Index & Social Sciences Index (Web of Science: 1987 - )  
  Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
• Science Online  
  Access to the full text of Science from 1997 to present.
• ScienceDirect College Edition  
  Extensive full text access to the Elsevier journal collections: Health Sciences (600 peer reviewed journals), Life Sciences (530 peer reviewed journals) and Physical Sciences & Engineering(600 peer reviewed journals).
• Web of Science  
  Multidisciplinary database of article abstracts. Search by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Once you have left campus there are databases you can use through BadgerLink.

Access more online Andersen Library databases by selecting Articles & Databases from the Find menu on any Library webpage. Then do one of the following:

• To find a database you know about, click on the link for the first letter of its name under Indexes & Databases in Alphabetical Order
• To find a database on your subject, click on the subject under Indexes & Databases by Subject
• To search several databases in the same system at once, click on a system name under Indexes & Databases by System

When formulating your search, be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "and" to combine different ideas together.

Sample search in ScienceDirect College Edition:

"carbon nanotubes" and memory and computer*

sponge* and (oil or grease)

Most databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use  button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.