Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Geography 365: Geography of Latin America: Finding Articles

Article Databases

All Topics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Business and Economics Topics

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest)   
If your topic includes a business or industry angle, ABI/Inform is a good place to look for articles in business journals.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 2,300 full-text business periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.

EconLit (EBSCOhost)
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Education Topics

EBSCOhost Education Databases - four EBSCO education-related databases, including Education Research Complete and Education Source

Environmental and Science Topics

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)   
Covers 1,200 core English-language scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.

Biological Abstracts (Institute for Scientific Information)  
Indexing and abstracts of journals in the biological sciences.

BioOne  
Aggregation of high impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

Environment Complete (EBSCOhost)   
Environment Complete offers content in the applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science,geography, pollution & waste management, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 680 journals and provides full text for 120 monographs.

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)   
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

Institute of Physics Electronic Journals  
Full text of all 33 of the Institute of Physics journals. Off campus users can use the site but do not have access to the full text of articles. Searching across the contents of the journals is possible. References with each article include links to available IOP articles as well as to INSPEC abstracts.

Nature  
This site is a gateway to all Nature-titled journals and sites for all levels of visitors. It provides full text services to the weekly printed edition of Nature, and an extensive range of content and other services are available.

Sage Premier Journals Online  
SAGE Premier provides electronic access to more than 500 peer-reviewed, full-text journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. (94,000+ articles).

Science Citation Index & Social Sciences Index (Web of Science: 1987 - )  
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Science Online  
Access to the full text of Science from 1997 to present.

ScienceDirect College Edition  
Extensive full text access to the Elsevier journal collections: Health Sciences (600 peer reviewed journals), Life Sciences (530 peer reviewed journals) and Physical Sciences & Engineering (600 peer reviewed journals).

Web of Science  
Multidisciplinary database of article abstracts. Search by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. The information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

News Topics

LexisNexis Academic
Covers English language and foreign language newspapers from around the world. Select News, then All News from the left-hand menu. Then select Source: By Type from the drop-down menu to search Major World Publications, Newspapers, etc.

ProQuest Newsstand
Offers articles from 700 major U.S. and international newspapers.

Truncation

Another way, besides OR, to increase the number of search results is to use truncation. This will find all words that have the same root or trunk.

Research@UWW

child* = child, children, childish, child's, childhood, children's, etc.

Most Databases

Databases use many different symbols for truncation, so remember to check the search tips. EbscoHost and ProQuest databases use the * (asterisk):

child* = child, children, childish, child's, childhood, children's, etc.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis uses the ! (exclamation mark):

child! = child, children, childish, child's, childhood, children's, etc.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.