Research@UWW searches across disciplines for "Everything" -- articles, books, ebooks, government publications, media, and more. You can search just the Articles segment, or after searching "Everything" you can use limiters on the side to show only articles or only peer-reviewed journal articles.
UW-Whitewater's libraries subscribe to many databases that search periodical (journal, magazine & newspaper) articles, and some also search book chapters, dissertations, etc. Some are discipline-specific and others are multidisciplinary. Not all content in these databases is searchable via Research@UWW. Ask a Librarian for assistance with selecting databases appropriate for your topic if needed. Several are recommended below. Access the entire databases list by selecting Articles/ Databases on the libraries' main page.
Request articles not available by using ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan).
Selected other databases (or select a subject from the alphabetical database list)
Example of research article in EBSCO database search results: You can see citation elements, subject headings, and a link to full text (in this case, PDF). You may click the image to go to this item in the Communication & Mass Media Complete database.
If you click the title, you may see an abstract summarizing the article and additional subjects. You also have options on the right to print, email or save; get formatted citations; get a durable link to this article's record; or the option to save the article to your EBSCO account.
If you click "Cite" on the right, you can select from the styles offered, which include APA. Be sure to check the citation for errors and make corrections. In the example here, the title of the article is incorrectly capitalized.
Most databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.
In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.
In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.
If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.
How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.