Research, Citation, & Class Guides: CIGENRL 725: Curriculum Development and Integration (online): Finding Articles

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, you may find you have better results with specific subject databases.

Below are some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete list.

Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Even though this is a general database, some educational topics are covered.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
Education Research Complete This EBSCO database includes the Cited References feature.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
Educational Administration Abstracts covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other key areas.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.

ERIC Provides access to of government documents, reports, conference proceedings, standards, curriculum, and journal articles on education research and practice.

Professional Development Collection Designed for professional educators, this database includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. Also available via Badgerlink to all Wisconsin residents.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
APA PsycArticles Provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
APA PsycInfo Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines. Use especially for topics in special education and counseling.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
SocINDEX with Full Text Covers sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted to 4 users at a time Provides full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus with coverage back to 1985. This database is useful for topics related to coaching, physical and health education.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.

Search Tips: Searching with Key Words

Here are some search tips to remember when searching the databases.

1. Be sure to mark the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limit when searching for peer reviewed articles.

2. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "health education", "type II diabetes")

3. Use the word "AND" between different concepts.

4. Use the word "OR" between similar concepts.

5. A common truncation symbol in the databases is the asterisk symbol *. Using this will allow you to search for various forms of the word in one step. For example, strateg* will search for strategy, strategies, strategize, and strategic.

Here are some example searches:

("experimental methods" or "nontraditional education" or "experimental teaching") and autism
(treatment* or strateg* or approach* or method*) and "Prader Willi Syndrome"
"health education" and (certif* or credent*)

Find the Full Text

When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, use to determine whether Andersen Library patrons have access to it via a different service.

How to Use Find It: Step by Step

If Andersen Library does not have access to a journal or article, request it via ILLiad (Inter-library Loan)

A-Z Journal List
Tap to search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.