Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Flickr: The Commons
Find millions of Creative Commons photographs that are copyright-free. Look for the Creative Commons icons for the type of permitted use.
Foter: Free Stock Photos & Images
Search, manage and add over 190 million free Creative Commons images from many online sources.
The embed code contains all necessary CC attributions.
Google Advanced Image Search
Images, videos, and music found using Google are NOT automatically available for you to freely use. To get to the images that have a Creative Commons license, narrow your Advanced Image Search results by "usage rights" by clicking on "not filtered by license" and changing that to one of the other available options."
Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
offers access to thousands of images. Many images have information for citing in the catalog record.
The Louvre Collections
Can't get to Paris to visit the Louvre? No worries, digital images of all the works of art in the Louvre's collections are now available online.
The Met Collection
Over 490,000 of the Metropolitan Museum of Art's high resolution digital images are freely available for non-commercial use. The Image & Data Resources
“contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site.” You still need to give credit to the photographer who took the photo.
UW Digitized Collections
The UWDC provides quality digital resources from University of Wisconsin libraries to UW faculty, staff and students, citizens of the state, and scholars at large. Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online.
Use this wiki-style database of images in the Public Domain or with Creative Commons licenses.
Free icons and maps to use in presentations.