Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Music: Voice Music in Andersen Library

This is a guide to web sites and library resources to support research and exploration in music.

Library of Congress Classification - Vocal Music

Call numbers on library books/scores group them by topic or genre. Most books dealing with music have call numbers starting with M. Lettered areas are further subdivided by additional letters and/or numbers (see examples below). You can use this information to browse library shelves.

In general:

M = scores/printed music

ML = books about music

MT = music instruction & study

Vocal Music M1495-2199, ML, MT detail below

Collections (M1495)

Secular Vocal Music (M1497-1998)

Dramatic music - Operas

 

         M1500  Full scores of operas
         M1503  Vocal scores of operas
   
Songs (including arias and solo cantatas): Orchestral Accompaniment

 

     M1611  Collections: full scores
     M1612  Collections: piano-vocal scores
     M1613  Separate works: full scores
       M1613.3  Separate works: other accompaniment
     M1614  Separate works: piano accompaniment
     M1615  Arrangements: Collections: full scores
     M1616  Arrangements: Collections: piano-vocal scores
     M1617  Arrangements: Separate works: full scores
     M1618  Arrangements: Separate works: piano accompaniment
   
 Songs: Other accompaniment or no accompaniment  
     M1619  Collections (more than one composer)
     M1620  Collections: one composer
     M1621  Separate works: piano accompaniment
        M1621.2  Separate works: unaccompanied
          M1621.3
 Separate works: accompanied by piano and one other instrument
        M1621.4  Song cycles
     M1622  Vaudeville, music-hall songs, etc.
     M1623  Accompaniment of one other instrument: Collections
     M1624  Accompaniment of one other instrument: Separate works
     M1625–1626  Recitations with music
     M1627–1853  Folk, national and ethnic songs (solo songs and part-songs)
     M1900–1978

 Songs (solo songs and part-songs) of groups and schools or about special subjects

     M1990–1998  Secular music for children

 

Sacred Vocal Music

     M2018–2019.5  Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices
 Songs with orchestra, etc. accompaniment  
        M2102  Collections
        M2103  Separate songs: Full scores
        M2103.3  Separate songs: Other accompaniment
        M2104  Separate songs: piano-vocal scores
     M2105–2108  Arrangements
 Songs with piano accompaniment  
        M2110  Collections (more than one composer)
        M2112  Collections (one composer)
        M2113  Separate songs: accompaniment of one instrument
        M2113.2  Separate songs: unaccompanied
        M2113.3  Song cycles
        M2114  Special texts: By religion or denomination
     M2115–2146  Hymnals: By religion or denomination
     M2190–2196  Sacred vocal music for children

 

ML: Classification Numbers for Books about Vocal Music

       ML128 .S2  Sacred vocal music bibliographies
       ML128.V7  Vocal music bibliographies
 Vocal music  
       ML1400  General works
     ML1402–1451  Vocal music (arranged by period then region or country)
       ML1460  Vocal technique
 Secular vocal music  
       ML1600  General works
       ML1602–1651  By period then region or country
       ML1700–1751  Forms and types (general works; by period then region or country)
     ML2400–2551

 Cantatas and songs: works about both solo songs and part-songs

(arranged by period then region or country)

     ML2600–2670  Part-songs (arranged by period then region or country)
     ML2800–2854  Solo songs (arranged by period then region or country)
     ML2880–2881  Christmas songs
 Sacred vocal music  
       ML2900  General works
     ML2902–2951  By period then region or country
     ML2999–3197  Individual religions and denominations
     ML3201–3275  Forms and types(oratorio, cantata, chorale)

 

MT: Classification for books about instruction and study of singing and vocal techniques

       MT820   General works
       MT821  Physiology and care of the voice
       MT823  History of vocal instruction and study
 Systems and methods  
       MT825  American
       MT830  English
       MT835  French
       MT840  German
       MT845  Italian
       MT850  Other
       MT853  Systems using audio-visual aids
 Special techniques  
       MT855  General works
       MT860  Chanting
       MT870  Sight-singing
       MT875  Chorus and part-singing
       MT878  Breathing
       MT882  Tone production
       MT883  Pronunciation; diction
       MT885  Studies and exercises
       MT890  Instructive editions; teaching pieces
       MT892  Interpretation, phrasing, expression
       MT893  Self-instructors
       MT898–916  Vocal techniques for children

Music (Books and Scores) on Andersen Library's 3rd floor

Click the map to see the Book Stack Directory online:

Music CDs on Andersen Library's 2nd floor

Recital Recordings

The UW-Whitewater Music Department has deposited a collection of recital/concert recordings in the Archives & Area Research Center. Please contact the Archivist, Jennifer Motszko, for assistance.