Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Library Reference Sources for Music
Reference books can be an excellent source of background information, which can quickly acquaint you with a topic. To find additional reference sources like the ones below, search the library catalog: Research@UWW's "Books, Media & more (UW Whitewater)".
Oxford Music Online
This is the portal to Grove Music Online, containing The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Note: Restricted to 5 users at a time.
Encyclopedia of African American Music
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010
African Americans' historical roots are encapsulated in the lyrics, melodies, and rhythms of their music. This encyclopedia showcases all facets of African American music including folk, religious, concert and popular styles in over 500 in-depth entries by more than 100 scholars. Included: genres, styles, individuals, groups, and collectives, historical topics (e.g., music of the Harlem Renaissance, Black Arts Movement, Civil Rights Movement, etc.), balanced representation of key individuals, groups, and ensembles associated with diverse religious beliefs, political affiliations, and other perspectives not usually approached. Also highlighted: major record labels, institutions of higher learning, and various cultural venues (e.g., Motown Records, Black Swan Records, Fisk University, Gospel Music Workshop of America, The Cotton Club, Center for Black Music Research, etc.).
The Encyclopedia of Native Music
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML156.4.I5 W75 2005 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2005
Native music embraces a wide range of forms: country and folk, jazz and swing, reggae and rap. Brian Wright-McLeod, producer/host of Canada's longest-running Native radio program, has gathered the musicians and their music into this comprehensive reference, an authoritative source for biographies and discographies of hundreds of Native artists, tracing the history of their commercially released music in 1,800 entries spanning more than 100 years.
Women and Music in America since 1900
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML82 .W625 2002 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2002
The 20th century heard a rich sound coming from America: women making music. Other works may be strictly biographical or cover only one type of musician. This two volume, A-to-Z encyclopedia represents the first major effort to describe the role of women in all forms of music in the U.S. since 1900. Entries cover such material as, important individuals, biographical overviews, gender issues, education, music genres, honors and awards, organizations, and professions.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The online edition of Garland Encyclopedia of World Music contains entries on all aspects of world music, combined with 3,000 audio recordings. 10-volume set with accompanying CDs also in 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML100 .G16 1998.
The Rough Guide to World Music
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML102.W67 W67 1999 v.1-2 (+ copy in 3rd-floor Main Collection)
Publication Date: 2000
v. 1. Africa, Europe and the Middle East -- v. 2. Latin & North America, Caribbean, India, Asia and Pacific
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by
Call Number: Reference Collection, 2nd Floor, ML113 .H55 1997 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 1997
Inventories some 8,000 historically important collected editions of music, including numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, as well as musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies. The compilers have paid particular attention to series and sets published in eas