Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Women's Studies 455 - Literary Women Abolitionists: Articles

Article Databases

Use these article databases to find literary, socio-cultural and historical analyses of the literary women abolitionists you are studying.

In addition to the databases listed below, you can access a complete listing of the Library's online article indexes and databases at Articles & Databases. These resources are available via the Indexes and Databases by Subject links, or via the alphabetical listing of databases.

To search for a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper owned by Andersen Library (whether in print, electronic format, or accessed via aggregator databases like EBSCOhost) use the Journal Holdings List.

  • EBSCO humanities and social science databases - (EBSCOhost)
    This link will search 11 of EBSCO's humanities and social science databases. If you'd like to search different EBSCO databases, just click the "Choose Databases" link above the search box in EBSCO and select different databases.
  • GenderWatch - (ProQuest)
    Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, government reports and more on gender and women's studies.
  • Literature Criticism Online - (Gale)
    This version of Literature Criticism Online allows searching for literature criticism by named work and named author.
  • Literature Criticism Online - (Gale)
    This version of Literature Criciticism Online includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, so it's helpful for finding biographical information about the authors.
  • JSTOR 
    JSTOR has dozens of journals related to Feminist & Women's Studies and you can limit your search to those journals in the JSTOR Advanced Search.
  • Project Muse - (Johns Hopkins University)
    Project Muse has a number of journals related to women's studies, literary criticism and history..

Primary Source Databases/Web Sites

These databases may provide primary source documents such as period newspaper articles, letters, diaries, and pamphlets. They offer a window into the lives and times of the literary women abolitionists about whom you are writing. Use the article databases listed in the section above to find analysis and an in-depth discussion of the topics.

  • African-American Mosaic: Abolition (Library of Congress)
    This is a Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture and offers many primary source documents relating to the abolitionist movement .
  • American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
    Search all collections to find primary source documents written by many women abolitionists.
  • America's Historical Newspapers - (NewsBank)
    Early American newspapers dating from 1690 to the late 20th century.
  • Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945
    Also known as The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs, this database spans four centuries and 15 languages. The collection includes periodicals, books and pamphlets.
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 - (Alexander Street Press)
    Search the full text of diaries and letters written by over 1300 women, beginning in the 1600's and extending to the twenty-first century.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 - (Alexander Street Press)
    Contains more than 90 document projects; each project poses a question and provides a collection of documents that address the question.
  • Women Authors (Library of Congress)
    This is part of the collection called "From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909" and includes primary source documents written by Angelina Grimke and Lydia Maria Child.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.