Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Elementary/Middle School Music Methods: Finding Historical Context

Looking for books about how to teach music, songbooks, music activities, story books about music or based on a song, or a storybook that could be used with some musical instruments, songs or activities? Are you looking for journal articles about teaching

Historical Context Research Tips

In addition to searching for the song titles in the databases below, 

1. Use Picture Books:

Look in the picture or textbook where you found the song lyrics. You may find an "Artist's Note" or a resource list on the last page which may contain information regarding the author or illustrator's research.

2. Use Reference Books

Reference Universe will point you to exact volumes and pages of reference materials in the Andersen Library. Most of the titles are part of the 2nd floor Reference Collection and some are online, but you may find titles in the 3rd floor Main Collection or online. Click here to see a brief video showing how to use this.

For example, type Follow the Drinking Gourd below. NOTE: Do not use quotation marks in Reference Universe searching.

         

Enter your search terms:

Article Databases for Music Education

These databases are useful for researching topics related to music education. See the subject listing of databases to find more education- or music-related databases, or ask a Librarian for more ideas!

Music Databases

Education Databases

Find the Full Text

When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, use View It or  Find It button  to determine whether Andersen Library patrons have access to it via a different database or inter-library loan (ILLiad). Here's how:

watch a brief tutorialHow to Use Find It: Step by Step

Use the Journals search to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine:

screenshot of journal search button