Skip to Main Content
site header image

English 271: Critical Writing in the Field of English Literature: Finding Articles

Literary Databases

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Other databases the library has contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat for assistance. Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library. Databases, Research@UWW, and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases tab from the box on the Library homepage and choosing a subject or database name.

Sample search in library databases:

"turn of the screw" AND henry AND james

"turn of the screw" AND james AND (wom* OR female* or gender*)

Find the Full Text From a Database

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles and/or chapters in addition to citations. To access the full text there will be a button or text to click on that says something like: PDF, HTML, or Full Text.

When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. One of several things will happen when you click on it.

  1. You will be taken to a "LibKey" screen with one or more Full Text Format Options on the right side. Select Article Link to go to a database that does have the full text.
  2. You will be taken to Research@UWW. To see whether an article, chapter, book, video, etc. is available look in the:
    1. View Online section to see if there is a link to the item in one of the libraries' subscription databases.
    2. Get It section to see if there are other ways to access the full text of the article.
  3. If you have a citation for something UWW does not have access to AND are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If:

    UW-Whitewater has it, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it. UW-Whitewater does NOT have it, go to the library homepage, select My Accounts, and Logon to ILLiad, then fill out the request form.

    In the Get It section you will see other ways to access the full text of the article. Either:

    UW-Whitewater has the item physically in one of the UWW libraries. If at your campus, you will go to the listed collection to get it. If at the other campus, use the "Request" option to have it sent to your campus. Some people who fit this set of criteria can use ILLiad to have articles or book chapters scanned as a PDFs for you to access online. UW-Whitewater does NOT have the needed item in one of the UWW libraries. Select Please sign in for more request options --> Sign in. Select UW-W Students / Staff Login >, and then Log in. Complete the multifactor authentication through Duo. Click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) for articles and chapters or UW-Request for books, media, government and other items.

    How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are: 

  1. Use the most recent version of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser (Edge and Internet Explorer can cause access problems)
  2. Use Citrix (step by step instructions) from this webpage: https://gateway.uww.edu
  3. Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Want to watch a video on VPN? See http://youtu.be/hE-f8-Zp7jU

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.

Journals Search (Find our periodicals)

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian