Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Intraunv 104: New Student Seminar (Lynn Smith): Finding Articles

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.

Search for Articles @ UWW



  Library Article Databases

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Online databases are the preferred way to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using online databases, ask a Librarian for assistance with researching and using other resources. Databases list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library.

Databases and the full text articles they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

Here are a few databases to get you started:

Business Databases

General Databases

Access more databases by selecting Articles & Databases from the Find menu on any Library webpage. Then do one of the following:

  • To find a database you know about, click on the link for the first letter of its name under Indexes & Databases in Alphabetical Order
  • To find a database on your subject, click on the subject under Indexes & Databases by Subject
  • To search several databases in the same system at once, click on a system name under Indexes & Databases by System

Databases can also be reached from the center search box on the Library homepage, by clicking on the Articles or Top Databases tab.

Basic instructions for searching various databases can be found in Andersen Library's online Database Guides. Additional tips, including various limits and other searches types, can be found on help screens in the databases.

It is worthwhile to be both comprehensive and detailed when searching. Be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "and" to combine different ideas together.

Sample search in Academic Search Complete:

"south sudan" and (secession or seced*)

How do you know whether an article is scholarly or not? Check out the Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles guide.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.