Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Writers' Manuals: APA
Go to the source for accurate style information. Copies are available online, in Reference, and in the Main Collection. Stop at the Reference Desk for assistance.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Date: 2019
Citations in APA
Citing Sources: APA Style
Many databases offer a "Cite" tool. Use these a starting point for building your References page; however, as these are often inaccurate, verify provided citations by checking them against a writers' manual or style guide.
Video Tutorial Playlist: APA Citation Style (7th Edition)
1. Be familiar with UW-System and UWW policies regarding academic misconduct:
2. Keep track of all sources that you use while gathering resources, including print and online. Consider using Citation Management Software such as EndNote Web, Zotero, or other online tools for assistance.
3. Review writing techniques for referencing others' ideas in your writing, while giving due credit:
4. Make an appointment with the tutors at the UW-Whitewater Writing Center / Campus Tutorial Services or sign up for a workshop. Cybertutoring is available for distance students.
Organizing References Using Citation Management Tools
You may be familiar with online citation generators such as Bibme.org or Son of Citation Machine. Using citation management software such as EndNote Web or Zotero, you can do much more, such as managing citations and references from any number of databases in one place. In addition, you can:
- Quickly add references to your collection while you search databases in Web of Science, EBSCOhost, and others.
- Organize references in folders for online access and use at any time.
- Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles.
- Share reference collections and collaborate with colleagues.
- Use Cite While You Write (CWYW: EndNote) or similar plugins to automatically add citations and references while you write in Microsoft Word and other word processing programs.
Andersen Library currently provides assistance with the following two citation managers, EndNote Web and Zotero, which are recommended especially for students in upper level courses requiring literature reviews or the collection of numerous references:
UWW Sign Up for a Workshop (Coming soon! Fall 2016 schedule)
Andersen Library offers workshops for citation management tools (Fall 2016 schedule pending. If you wish to schedule a 1-1 in person or online meeting for assistance getting started, email latorrae @ uww.edu )
Citation Managers Comparison Chart (UW-Madison Libraries)
Which citation manager should I choose?
If you aren't sure which to use, talk with one of our reference librarians.
(Formerly EndNote Web) Subscription is provided free of charge to UWW students, faculty, and staff through Web of Knowledge and Web of Science.
Visit the EndNote Web LibGuide for more information.
EndNote Web LibGuide
Learn more about EndNote Web, including tips from a Whitewater Reference Librarian.
Visit the Zotero LibGuide for more information.
Learn more about Zotero, including tips and tricks from a Whitewater Reference Librarian.