Political Science 418: Legal Research & Writing: Secondary: Articles

Where should you look for your articles?

• Research@UWW searches across disciplines for "Everything" -- articles, books, ebooks, government publications, media, and more. You can search just the Articles segment, or after searching "Everything" you can use limiters on the side to limit results to show only articles or only peer-reviewed journals.

• UW-Whitewater's libraries subscribe to many databases that search periodical (journal, magazine & newspaper) articles, and some also search book chapters, dissertations, etc. Some are discipline-specific and others are multidisciplinary. Ask a Librarian for assistance with selecting databases appropriate for your topic if needed. Not all content in these databases is searchable via Research@UWW.
   
  Access databases by selecting Articles/ Databases on the libraries' main page.

Good databases to search for legal articles:

Other databases that may be useful:

• Historical topics
  • America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) - U.S. or Canadian history
  • Historical Newspaper databases (see Andersen Library guide "Guide to Historical Newspaper Research")
• Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
• CCH AnswerConnect - comprehensive federal and state tax information, including tax codes, regulations, court cases, IRS publications
• CQ Researcher - weekly issues on hot and controversial topics, since 1991
• Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) - current news about all branches of the military and government 
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (EBSCOhost) - summaries (not the full text) of journal articles, government reports, books, etc. on topics in the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice
• Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost)
• ProQuest Congressional

When an article's full text is not available in a database, click to learn if it is available in other databases or in the libraries' print or microform collections.

Search find journals for a journal, magazine or newspaper title to determine whether and where you can find full text articles in it.