Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Sources for Reviews & Synopses
- Eagan, Daniel. America's Film Legacy: The Auhoritative Guide to the Landmark Movies in the National Film Registry. Ref PN1993.5.U6 .E15 2010
Offers reviews of the 500 films selected for the National Film Registry.
- Encyclopedia of Film Noir. Ref PN1995.9 .F54 M 39 2007
Offers snyopses/reviews of film noir movies. This genre of dark, shadowy, black and white crime films, primarily made in the 1940s and 1950s.
- Bowles, Stephen E. Film Anthologies Index. Ref Z5784 .M9 B637 1994
Index to book anthologies, international coverage through 1994.
- Halliwell, Leslie. Halliwell's Film Guide, 9th ed., Main PN1993.45 .H27 1994
Brief entries. International coverage through 1992.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers: Films (vol. 1). Ref PN1997.8 .I58 2000
Each review includes a bibliography of other article and/or books about the film. Covers films through 1999.
- Hughes, Lloyd. Rough Guide to Gangster Movies. Ref PN1995.9 .G3 H84 2005
Offers synopses/reviews of the 50 essential U.S. and international gangster movies.
- Jones, Alan. Rough Guide to Horror Movies. Ref PN1995.9 .H6 J66 2005
Offers synopses/reviews of the 50 classic U.S. and international horror movies.
- Magill's Cinema Annual. Ref PN1993.45 .M33x
Supplement to Magill's Survey of Cinema. Reviews of films include bibliographies of more reviews. Covers 1982-2003.
- McCabe, Bob. Rough Guide to Comedy Movies. PN1995.9.C55 M385 2005
Offers synopses/reviews of the 50 classic U.S. and international comedy movies.
- New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made. Ref PN1995. C343 2004
This is a guide to top U.S. and international films made through 2002.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films. Ref PN1995 .M3
First series 4 volumes; second series 6 volumes. Covers 1927-1981.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films. Ref PN1995.75 .M33
The 3 volumes cover 1902 to 1936.
- Parish, James R. Gays & Lesbians in Mainstream Cinema, Plots, Critiques, Casts & Credits for 272 Theatrical & Made-for-Television Hollywood Releases.
Ref PN1995.9 .H55 P37 1993
Covers 1914 to 1992.
- Parish, James R. and Michael R. Pitts. Great Science Fiction Pictures II.
Ref PN1995.9 .S26 P38 1990
Covers 1916 to 1987.
- Scalzi, John. Rough Guide to Sci-Fi Movies. Ref PN1995.9 .S26 S33 2005
Offers synopses/reviews of the 50 classic U.S. and international science fiction movies.
- Selected Film Criticism. Ref PN1995 .S426 1982
- Within our Gates: Ethnicity in American Feature Films, 1911-1960. Ref PN1995.9.M56 W58 1997
Synopses of films portraying U.S. racial and ethnic groups.
Get Help: Ask a Librarian