Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wisconsin Historical Newspapers
For information on Wisconsin newspapers available in print and on
microfilm in the Andersen Library, see the Finding
Historical Newspaper Articles library guide.
Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles
(Wisconsin Historical Society). This site contains images of 16,000 articles from Wisconsin local newspapers, and a small number from other states, "preserved in scrapbooks at the Wisconsin Historical Society in the late 19th and 20th centuries." Most articles were published between 1860 and 1940.
Full page and individual articles from historic newspapers from Wisconsin.
Links to online resources for Wisconsin historical newspapers are located below this box.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections "provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value." The collections cover a variety of subjects, such as art, ecology, literature, history, music, natural resources, the State of Wisconsin, and the University of Wisconsin.
Turning Points in Wisconsin History
(Wisconsin Historical Society). Search by topic links provided, or via search box. Includes eyewitness accounts, pictures, and museum objects. Also includes K-12 lesson plans.
The State of Wisconsin Collection
(University of Wisconsin Digital Collections). This collection "brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development. The collection includes published material as well as archival materials." Some of the materials contained in the collection include various county histories, local history collections, plat maps, atlases, and more.
Indians of the Midwest
(Newberry Library, Chicago)
This site features recent research of scholars investigating the culture and histories of Indian people in the Midwest.
Wisconsin Public Land Survey Records: Original Field Notes and Plat Maps
(Wisconsin Board of Commissioners of Public Lands, and UW Digital Collections Center). Original field notes and plat maps of Wisconsin, 1833-1866 and resurvey maps, 1858-2009. Click Search to start. Search by township/range/section, or click a county on the map provided to get started.