Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(Duke University Libraries). A collection of over 7,000 North American advertisements between 1911-1955. Concentrates on radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
Beinecke Digital Collections
(Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University). Search for photographs, documents, "illuminated manuscripts," maps, books and more from the Beinecke's collections. Some collections of note include African Americana; Early Books and Manuscripts, before 1600; Modern Books and Manuscripts, after 1600; Early Americana, and Western Americana.
HarpWeek: Explore History
(Harper's Weekly). A collection of illustrations from the popular periodical. View cartoons by theme or date, or view other illustrations and text via "informative websites."
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
(Museum of the Moving Image). Watch presidential campaign television commercials starting with the Dwight D. Eisenhower v Adlai Stevenson contest of 1952, up to Barack Obama v John McCain in 2008. Credits and a transcript are given with each commercial. Campaign information is also provided.
Understanding 9/11: A Television News Archive
(Internet Archive). "The 9/11 Television News Archive is a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters." Coverage begins September 11 and goes through September 17, 2001.
World Digital Library
(Library of Congress and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization). Contains images of primary materials from around the world. Browse by topic or search by keyword. All materials appear in their original languages, but descriptive text can be translated into 7 languages, including English. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, prints and photographs, and more. Eras covered include 8000 BC to the present.
(Library of Congress). Photographs, maps, manuscripts, sheet music, and more are provided on this site. A broad range of American history is covered. Search specific collections or across all collections, or browse collections by topic.
Historic Cities: Maps and Documents
This site is a joint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library. Search for maps by city name, by year, or by map maker. Maps date from 1486-1800.
John R. Borchert Map Library
Located at the University of Minnesota. Search online indexes of the Library's holdings. Some of their collections are online; others are not. Links also provided to other online map collections and resources, such as Topographic Maps Online, World City Maps and Plans Online, and GIS Data. Click on the red arrow next to each link to access.
American Memory Project Maps
Search the maps collections on the American Memory web site by the Library of Congress. Search across all map collections or choose selected ones. View digital images of the maps. Some maps date back to the 1500s. Collections range from the Civil War, to the Louisiana Purchase, to the Revolutionary Era, and much more.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
(The University of Texas at Austin). Search the Library's online map collection by continent and then by country using the links on the left. Currently, the site has more than 44,000 map images out of its 250,000 printed maps available online. For viewing issues, read the site's Maps FAQ. Links to many other map sites also provided.