Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help: Ask a Librarian
Finding Primary Sources
To find primary sources in the online catalog, type one or more search terms that define your topic, as well as a term used in subject headings for primary sources, such as diaries, personal correspondence, interviews, sources, or personal narratives. For example: holocaust and diaries.
Some Andersen Library online databases are also particularly useful when looking for possible primary source material. Some suggested databases for this class are below. Not everything in each of these databases is primary source material, so examine search results carefully.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) - ProQuest
Search the full text of the New York Times, from 1851-2007, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987) -
Contains the full content of the Chicago Tribune, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more, from 1849-1987.
- America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank) -
Early American newspapers dating from 1690-1922 covering topics ranging from the Puritans and witchcraft to the Jazz Age and the Scopes Monkey Trial. Articles are available in full text.
- LexisNexis Academic - LexisNexis
Search for newspaper articles from the United States and around the world. Also includes articles from news wires, transcripts from TV and radio news broadcasts, and some magazine articles. Coverage of each title varies, but extends back to the 1980s in some cases and occasionally to the 1970s. Click the News tab to get started.
- Access NewspaperARCHIVE - BadgerLink
This database is accessible via BadgerLink. BadgerLink databases are restricted to Wisconsin residents and must be accessed using a Wisconsin Internet Service Provider. Search more than 4,000 newspaper titles published between 1753 and 2006. Coverage of each newspaper is not complete and in many cases may be sporadic. Some articles may be viewed for free; other content requires payment for viewing. Articles not freely available full text in this database might be obtained through interlibrary loan.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) (Ebscohost) -
Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general interest periodicals published in the United States. Date range covered is 1890-1982.
Primary information can also be found in government sources. For some possible resources, see the Government Information section of this guide.
For more information on searching for primary sources, see the Finding Primary Sources for Historical Research online user guide.