For articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, use the Library's article databases. Choose the database(s) you need based on your topic. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized.
If you don't know which database to use, look on the Articles & Databases webpage and see the Databases by Subject links for suggested databases in your topic area, or use the Databases by Title alphabetical listing.
For topics in United States foreign relations/history, you might start with:
- America: History and Life with Full Text - Ebscohost
United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes coverage of periodicals dating from 1954 to the present. Covers more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide. Provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals. Links are also provided with some records to the full text of the article in other databases.
Search for journal articles and book reviews in a variety of subject areas, including history and political science.
- Project Muse
Search for articles and book reviews in a variety of subject areas, including history and politics and policy studies.
- Humanities Source - (Ebscohost)
Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on topics in the humanities, including history.
- Political Science Complete - Ebscohost
Search for articles on political science topics. Includes over 300 full-text reference books and over 36,000 full-text conference papers.
- Academic Search Complete - Ebscohost
Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a wide variety of topics.
For a complete list of the Library's article databases, see the Databases by Title alphabetical listing on the Articles & Databases webpage.
For information on how to tell the difference between a scholarly article and a popular (i.e., non-scholarly) article, see the online library user guide: Scholarly Journal vs. Popular Magazine Articles.
Contact a reference librarian if you need assistance.