Research, Citation, & Class Guides: SPECED 476/676 Curriculum, Methods, & Materials for Those With Multiple Disabilities: Finding K12 Books

Selecting Children's Literature

Looking for award-winning books or books at a specific...

grade level?
reading level?
interest level?

Deciding whether a book is appropriate requires research. These databases will help you by allowing you to search by levels, themes and topics, and more.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Use this tool to limit your search to specific reading levels and more. Includes reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 27 sources of reviews including The Cooperative Children's Book Center [CCBC]. Note especially themed book lists.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
Located at UW-Madison; supports teaching, learning and research related to children’s and young adult literature. Note especially themed book lists.
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
Covers 102 awards from United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland.
Novelist and Novelist K-8
is a reader advisory database for readers of all ages. Search by grade level, subject searches, academic standards, and more. (Badgerlink)

TeachingBooks.net
- This link opens in a new window
includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment. It also offers multimedia resources such as original movies of authors and illustrators and audio excerpts of professional book readings.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.

Find Children's Books in UW-Whitewater Library (Research@UWW)

Use Research@UWW to find books in the library or other UW System libraries.

Add any of the following terms or phrases to your keyword (query word) to narrow more quickly to the Curriculum Collection:

juvenile
picture books
"stories in rhyme"

For example, if searching for picture books with cats, type cats picture books in the search box:

You may find it helpful to use the Location limiter at the left of the results page. Limit results to:

Curriculum Collection Easy Books for fiction and non-fiction, PreK-Grade 4.
Curriculum Collection Fiction for Grades 5 to Young Adult
Curriculum Collection Non-Fiction for Grades 5 to Young Adult.

To locate the book on the shelf, note the author's name, the entire location, and the call number.

Children's and young adult (through grade 12) books are located in the Curriculum Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library.

If the Andersen Library collection does not have the title you want, use the Get It to Request link and follow the prompts to borrow it from another UW System library using UW System Borrowing.