Theatre 252: Introduction to Theatrical Design: Finding Periodicals

Get 24/7 help via live chat
Make an appointment with a Librarian

During Reference Desk Hours:
262-472-1032
 Text us! 262-500-3393
Email

The Special Collections area of the Library has many Sears catalogs spanning several decades. To browse through some of these issues, ask at the Special Collections help desk Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Be sure to bring a flashdrive to store images if you plan to scan some photos. (If the door is locked during business hours, please ask at the Reference Desk, and someone will help you.)

For articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, use the Library's article databases. Choose the database(s) you need based on your topic. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized.

If you don't know which database to use, look on the Articles & Databases webpage and see the Databases by Subject links for suggested databases in your topic area, or use the Databases by Title alphabetical listing.

For topics in this class, you might start with:

• America: History and Life with Full Text 
• America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
   
• Academic Search Complete
  Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a wide variety of topics.
   
• Art Source Find articles in subject areas related to art, including interior design and architecture.  
   
• JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, & III Collection      
  JSTOR is an electronic journal archival project which provides full-text accesss to complete runs of back issues of over 550 scholarly journal titles in approximately 40 fields.
   
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007)  
  ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ – The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times. It offers complete coverage from 1851-2007. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. And the database just keeps growing, with a new year's content added annually.
   
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987) (Proquest) 
  ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

For a complete list of the Library's article databases, see the Databases by Title alphabetical listing on the Articles & Databases webpage.

Below are two print periodicals on the 1st floor of the Andersen Library, which will likely contain many photographs. You might want to browse through some of these to see the advertisements and other pictures from issues during the setting of your play.

The issues that you need will be in the "bound periodicals" area in most cases. The bound journals are organized alphabetically by title.

For periodicals in storage, ask at the Circulation Desk, and allow a day or two for retrieval. Microfilm and microfilm readers are on the 1st floor. You can ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance if needed.

Harper's There is more than one publication by Harper's, and some of the publications have had name changes. There are years covering all three assigned plays.

• Harper's Bazaar - Microform Room (APS III Reels 430-450): Vol. 1 (Nov. 2, 1867)-v.46, no. 12 (Dec. 1912) and Bound Periodicals (first floor): v.86 (1952)-v.98 (1964),v.112 (1979) - current
• Harper's New Monthly Magazine - Microform Room: no.1 (1850)-no.30 (1865) and Bound Periodicals Storage (Ask at Circulation Desk): no.31 (1865) - no.606 (1900)
• Harper's Monthly Magazine - Bound Periodicals Storage (Ask at Circulation Desk): v.102 (1900)-v.126 (1913)
• Harper's Weekly - Microform Room: v.1 (1857)-v.62 (1916)
• Harper's Magazine - Bound Periodicals Storage (Ask at Circulation Desk): (1913)-(1949) and Microfilm (1950)-(1976) 
• Harper's - Microform Room: v.253 (1976)-v.297:1783 (1998) and Bound Periodicals (first floor): v.298 (1999)-current

Film Comment - Bound Periodicals, 1st floor: v.7 (1971)-v.45 (2009)

Good Housekeeping - Bound Periodicals, 1st floor: v.76 (1923)-v.181 (1975), v.248:1 (2009)-current and Microform Room: v.182 (1976)-v.247 (2008)

Ladies' Home Journal - Bound Periodicals, 1st floor: v.78 (1961)-v.91 (1974), v.127:1 Feb.(2010) and Bound Periodicals Storage (Ask at Circulation Desk): v.20 (1902)-v.77 (1960)   

Life Magazine - Bound Periodicals, 1st floor: most years between 1938-2000
Online from Academic Search - 7/1/1993 to 5/31/2000 (indexed from 1/1/1984)

You can search in Reader's Guide Retrospective database for articles in Life Magazine. Use the ISSN number 0024-3019 in your search.

Most databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available full text in the database you are searching, use the Find It button to determine whether and where Andersen Library has a specific article. Find It is not available in all databases.

If you are not in a database, use the Journal Holdings List or Citation Linker to determine whether and where the Library has a periodical.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It & Citation Linker guide.