Research, Citation, & Class Guides: History 307: Recent America, 1945 to the Present: Anthologies + Citing

Examples

U.S. Marines in Iraq, 2004-2008 : anthology and annotated bibliography by Nicholas J. Schlosser
Call Number: Federal (US) Documents, 1st Floor D 214.13:IR 1/2010
Publication Date: 2010
One Woman, One Vote by Marjorie Spruill Wheeler (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection, 3rd Floor JK1896 .O54 1995
Publication Date: 1995-08-15
Companion book to the PBS American Experience documentary by the same name, this anthology is the most comprehensive collection of writings - contemporary and historical - on the woman suffrage movement in America. It includes essays by the most prominent contemporary historians, many who challenge widely accepted theories and illustrate the diversity and complexity of the fight for the 19th Amendment.
The Civil War Era: An Anthology of Sources by Lyde Cullen-Sizer (Editor); Jim Cullen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-01-10
There is an extraordinary range of material in this anthology, from Lincoln's Gettysburg address to a contemporary account of a visit from the Ku Klux Klan. The primary sources reproduced are both visual and written, and the secondary materials present a remarkable breadth and quality of relevant scholarship. Contains an extensive selection of writings and illustrations on the American Civil War Reflects society and culture as well as the politics and key battles of the Civil War Reproduces and links primary and secondary sources to encourage exploration of the material Includes editorial introductions and study questions to aid understanding
Transnationalism Canada-United States history into the twenty-first century by Edited by Michael Behiels Reginald C. Stuart
Call Number: eBook
An anthology of papers presented at the Organization for the History of Canada Conference, Spring 2004, Ottawa, Ontario.

Citing in Turabian Style

Whether you choose to quote or paraphrase sources you use in your research paper, you must cite each one. For rules and examples of Turabian citation style, look here:

Citing References: Turabian Style - (Andersen Library, UW-Whitewater)
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate Turabian (9th ed). Reference Desk LB2369 .T8 2018
Turabian Quick Guide - (The University of Chicago Press)

Sometimes students will use online citation formatters provided free on the Web or within a library database. If you use one of these online formatters, remember that they are not foolproof. You will need to review your citations to make sure they are correct.

Advice

Composing the Anthology: An Exercise in Patchwriting by Christopher Leary
This essay is a chapter in Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, Volume 1, a peer-reviewed open textbook series for the writing classroom, and is published through Parlor Press.
The Mirror and the Window: Reflections on Anthology Construction David Damrosch

In the context of history, an anthology is any collection of primary sources.

When these collections are published, they are not always called out right anthologies. Sometimes they are called "selected readings", "compliation", "readers", "source collection", or other things. If there are certain types of primary sources that you are interested in, try adding the particular source to your search.

For example:

World War And Letters

Great Depression AND diaries