Research, Citation, & Class Guides: PreK-12 E-Books and Online Resources: Home

Best Bets for PK-8

Internet Archive: Books to Borrow
Start here if you are looking for specific titles. You will need to create a free account. Use a Google account or create a unique one.
TeachingBooks.net: Complete Read-Alouds (Badgerlink)
Over 1500 complete picture books through older reader books, in audio and video format. Limit by reading level, grade, etc.

E-books for Elementary, Middle, and High School

TeachingBooks.net: Complete Read-Alouds (Badgerlink)
Over 1500 complete picture books through older reader books, in audio and video format. Limit by reading level, grade, etc. Lesson plans and teacher resources.
eBook Central: Juvenile Literature
Fiction and non-fiction for upper elementary through YA.
eBook Collection, PreK-12 (EBSCOHost)
Fiction and nonfiction for children and young adults. Add a search term to the existing search to add focus.
Epic! Ebooks for Children (Free)
- This link opens in a new window
PreK-Grade 6 teachers and librarians create a free login using a Google account. "Epic Free—which offers students up to 2 hours of after-school reading a week—will be ending on July 22, [2021]. At that time, those with Epic Free accounts will transition to Epic Basic accounts, which gives them access to 1 book a day, every day. This change will not impact students’ access to Epic School during regular school hours."
more...less...
Educator Resources and Get Started Tutorials: https://bit.ly/3g2diH9
International Children's Digital Library
This notable website presents a collection of illustrated books in numerous languages that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from around the world.
Internet Archive: Books to Borrow
Start here if you are looking for specific titles. You will need to create a free account. Use a Google account or create a unique one.

Libby, by OverDrive
UW-System Account for ebooks and audiobooks. Add this to your public library Libby account for more titles. FILTER by Audience, Grade Level, and ATOS. Sign-In to see our content. see this guide for more information.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Open eBooks Project (Free:/Preview Titles)
To access the app, educators sign up and receive codes for their students. Using those codes, students can download the free Open eBooks app to mobile devices and access a library of eBooks for K-12. Only accessible to patrons using K12 school district Google account or similar. See eligibility https://www.fbmarketplace.org/eligibility-faqs/
Open eBooks: REGISTRATION (via FirstBook)
Starfall
PreK-Gr 5 books, worksheets, and curricula: "Starfall’s successful learn-to-read activities are based on teachers’ experience and research. Developed and tested in the classroom, the activities follow evidence-based methods recommended by the NICHD National Reading Panel, including explicit instruction in phonemic awareness, systematic phonics instruction, and methods to improve fluency and comprehension."
Unite for Literacy
provides free access to more than 400 original picture books, one fourth of them written in Spanish. The digital books provide audio narrations in more than 40 languages, spoken by native speakers in warm, expressive voices. The languages of narration include indigenous and endangered languages along with languages most widely spoken in the US.
Wisconsin Digital Library - Overdrive (Ebook) Collection
Ebooks for adults, teens, and kids.
Sign in with your public library card and pin. UW-Whitewater students may request a library card from Whitewater's Irvin L. Young Public Library.

Lost PIN? Need a digital library card? Not sure which library to use?
Contact your public library at https://dpi.wi.gov/pld/directories/directory

Children's Literature Read-alouds and More

Storyline Online (free)
Read-aloud children's books by celebrated actors. These resources are included in TeachingBooks database.
LibriVox: Audio Children's Books (free)
Recordings of children's books in the public domain, mostly older, classic titles.
TeachingBooks.net: Read-Along Audiobook Performances Collection (Badgerlink)
Includes readings of complete picture books, chapter books, and some novels.
Author & Celebrity Read-aloud Livestream Events and Recordings
A spreadsheet of authors/publishers/celebrities that are reading PK-12 books aloud and where you can find these videos and livestream events.
more...less...
Provided by Jessie Ammons, MSLIS
EMC Coordinator
UW Oshkosh Libraries

Additional Ebooks for PreK-12

Do you need help locating a specific title or author in ebook format? Try browsing a few of the resources below, first. Then contact the Reference Librarian or use the Ask a Librarian Chat in the help boxes on this page.

Do you have feedback or comments regarding the resources below? Which of these do you find easiest to use? What ebook titles and genres are you most likely to use for yourself, your students, or lesson planning? Please email the Education Librarian your comments.

Audible Audiobooks
-- "For as long as schools are closed, we're open." -
-- "instantly stream [...] titles across six different languages..."
more...less...
-- Desktop, laptop, phone or tablet
Flyleaf Decodable Leveled Readers
Authentic decodable books and comprehensive, evidence-based foundational skills and close reading instruction for pre-K through grade 3, or for intervention Free use extended (again) through the upcoming 2021-2022 school year
Junior Library Guild (Free trial available)
-- eBooks for Elementary, Middle School and High school students (Free access has ended)
more...less...
-- unlimited access* to read books online from any device.
-- no limit to the number of users
-- titles enter and exit the digital stream regularly, so there are always new picks available (NOTE: This may mean that you might not find a title you accessed previously.)
National Emergency Library: Children’s Books
-- Create an account to read online
-- "a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed"
--As of June 16, 2020, books in the National Emergency Library are available to one borrower at a time using controlled digital lending

National Emergency Library - help page
Instructions for creating an account, searching and reading online

- Mackin Via

Limited number of fiction & non-fiction titles
Click here for Access information for UW-Whitewater students
Widely used Library catalog and e-book platform in preK-12 schools
Simultaneous users for each book permitted

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Ellen Latorraca

she/lei/ella

Email Me

Contact:

262-472-5525

Subjects: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Counselor Education, Education, Education (PreK-12 Audience), Kinesiology & Sports, Leadership (Military), Library Media, Music

Whitewater Leads Resource: for EDUINDP334 (Spring 2021)

Books at UW-Whitewater and Teaching Books
Dolly Parton's Imagination Library Website
Publisher Virtual Read-aloud Guidelines
SLJ COVID-19 Publisher Information Directory:
Search for publisher guidelines for virtual read-alouds, both recorded and live, that respect copyright. Maintained by School Library Journal.