Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Biology 370: Aquatic Biology: Find Articles

Biology Databases

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Online databases are the preferred way to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using online databases, ask a Librarian for assistance. Databases list articles that may or may not be owned by Andersen Library, so you may need to use Find It or the Journal Search to find the full text (see the next tab for information).

Andersen Library databases can be accessed from both on and off-campus by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the box on the Andersen Library homepage.

Below are the databases most frequently used for research in the biological sciences. For most topics in this class, start with PubMed and Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science)

AGRICOLA
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, an index of journal articles and other agricultural literature, 1970-present.
JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Scholarly research covering all aspects of biomedicine including nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
Project Muse
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
PubMed
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, biology, life science journals, and online books.
PubMedCentral
Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Science
Full text of Science magazine from 1997 to present.
Science Citation Index Expanded
- This link opens in a new window
This segment of Web of Science indexes journals across many scientific disciplines. Tracks some citation metrics for individual articles.
Part of Web of Science Core Collections, this resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
ScienceDirect
Hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences.
Partial funding for ebooks provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Peer Reviewed Journals

If you need to have an article that comes from a peer reviewed or refereed journal, look up the journal in Ulrichsweb.