Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Communication 110: Introduction to Human Communication: Find Articles

Research@UWW

Research@UWW is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of articles, books, ebooks, government documents, media, images, and more. It includes many, but not all, of the Library's databases. If you need more specialized information or want to look at a database not searched by Research@UWW, search individual databases.

Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.

Library Databases

The UWW libraries subscribe to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine, and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations, and the like. Other library databases contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat for assistance. Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the UWW libraries. Databases, Research@UWW, and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus by using your Net-ID and password

Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the box on the Library homepage and choosing a subject or database name.

Sample search in library databases:

"extreme sport*" AND (wom* OR female*)

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.

Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
Business Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Business Premium Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection and the Entrepreneurship Database. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.

Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
JSTOR
(JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 2021 due to COVID-19.)
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue. Covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals, UW-Whitewater Library has acquired Arts & Sciences I-VII Collections as well as the JSTOR Life Science Collection.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to the full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by university presses and scholarly societies.

Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
SAGE Journals
SAGE Journals provides full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals, and indexes thousands more, in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Partial funding for ebooks provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Find the Full Text

Most databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.