There are a lot of great websites out there, and a lot of duds. How can you tell the difference? These guides have some great tips for Evaluating Internet Resources. One method that helps to separate the good from the not-so-good is a search that limits the results to education websites only, like this in Google:
"elizabeth gaskell" criticism site:edu
Another method is to use a search engine like Google Scholar.
Here are a few websites you might find useful:
- Ann Radcliffe (Lilia Melani, Brooklyn College)
Provides a detailed biography of Ann Radcliffe and offers literary theory on Radcliffe’s works.
- Appendix N: The Gothic and American Literature (Paul P. Reuben, California State Univ. Stanislaus)
This appendix to PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Research and Reference Guide contains bibliographies of select works and criticism of Louisa May Alcott, Harriet Prescott Spofford, and more.
- Edgar Allen Poe Review (Poe Studies Association)
Published twice yearly.
- Gothic Experience (Lilia Melani, Brooklyn College)
Created to support a class in gothic literature, this website contains definitions, information about several authors, a list of relevant websites and more.
- Horror Literature Site (BellaOnline: The Voice of Women)
Features articles on horror literature, including several on related gothic topics.
- Individual Authors (Leila S. May, North Carolina State Univ.)
List of links to pages about authors relevant to a course entitled Hon 200 Monstrosity Madness Marginality.
- The Literary Encyclopedia
Provides biographical information, author bibliographies, lists of contemporaries, and links to other resources. About 600 words per entry are available without subscription.
- Project Gutenberg
Full Text of Gothic Literature that is out of copyright. Search for the author or work you are interested in.
- Romantic Circles Praxis Series
RCPS is committed to mapping out the languages, cultures, histories, and theories of Romanticism with critical writing of contemporary Romanticist scholarship. Also contains some articles relevant to Gothic texts.
- Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net
This is an open access journal devoted to British nineteenth-century literature since 1996.
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database (Hal W. Hall, Texas A&M University)
This database contains bibliographic access to tens of thousands of "articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews and other material about science fiction and fantasy. Some coverage of gothic, horror, and utopian literature is included." Searchable by author, title, imprint, and subject.
- The Sickly Taper (Fred Frank, emeritus, Allegheny College)
A comprehensive website, featuring an index of books, articles, dissertations, and book chapters on the topic; links to publishers of gothic novels, information about new publications on gothic literature, bibliographies of gothic fiction anthologies and collections; a list of Frank’s many publications on Gothic literature; and other bibliographies on specific authors and Gothic topics.
- The Victorian Literary Studies Archive Hyper-Concordance (Mitsuharu Matsuoka, Nagoya University, Japan)
This concordance allows users to search the full text of Victorian texts, including several in the Gothic genre.
- The Victorian Web (George P. Landow, Brown University)
Focuses on pre-Victorian and Victorian authors, including those in the Gothic genre. Includes information on Ann Radcliffe, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley and more. Provides biography, a bibliography, and scholarly information. This is an online version of Context 61, which is a resource for courses on Victorian literature.
- Voice of the Shuttle
Search for "Gothic" or author names. Links to some great sites, but unfortunately, also has quite a few broken links.
- Wikisource
Search by author or title for full text of Gothic Literature that is out of copyright.
Find more websites by using free indexes such as these or searching the Internet with a search engine like Google:
