Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries
If Andersen Library does not have the item that you need, or it is checked out, the Library can usually borrow the item from another library. The lending service you use depends upon the resource you wish to borrow. For assistance, please contact a reference librarian.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Use to borrow articles, books, and other materials not available at Andersen Library or through UW Request. Approximate turnaround time is 2-4 weekdays for articles; 5-7 weekdays for most other items. For more information, go to the Interlibrary Loan Service web page.
Citations for dissertations are found in the Proquest databases. The citations often include a link to the front matter including table of contents. Most Dissertations will not be loaned in their entirety. However, individual chapters can be borrowed via interlibrary loan. Please indicate which chapter you would like to request in the 'notes' field. If you cannot find the front matter with the citation, you can also request a table of contents through Interlibrary loan.
- Wisconsin Historical Society Library
Items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Library are found using UW-Madison's online catalog. Most items are borrowed using UW Request. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, if needed.
- Microfilm at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library
To borrow microfilm from the WHS Library (located using UW-Madison's online catalog), use interlibrary loan. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, as certain information is required.
- Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the Andersen Library's Area Research Center
Items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the various state Area Research Centers are found using the Historical Society Archives and WW ARC scope of Research@UWW. These items are borrowed via Andersen Library's Special Collections/Area Research Center (ARC). For assistance, contact the ARC at firstname.lastname@example.org or (262) 472-5520.
Use to borrow materials such as books, videos, and government documents from other UW System Libraries. Items ordered generally arrive within 2-5 weekdays. For more information, go to our Frequently Asked Questions web page.
Wisconsin Historical Society
The WHS has many newspapers from Wisconsin and around the country available on microfilm in the WHS Library. These newspapers are found using UW-Madison's online catalog. For a bibliography of newspaper holdings in the Wisconsin Historical Society, see the following resource, kept at the Andersen Library Reference Desk:
Danky, James P., and Maureen E. Hady, eds. Newspapers in the State Historical Society of Wisconsin: A Bibliography with Holdings. New York: Norman Ross Publishing, 1994.
Call number: Ref Z6952 .W8 N49 1994 2 vols.
Volume I contains listings of Wisconsin newspapers and volume II contains listings of U.S. and foreign newspapers.
Newspapers on microfilm at the Wisconsin Historial Society can be borrowed via interlibrary loan. Each reel needed must be on a separate interlibrary loan request form, even if the reels are from the same newspaper. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, as certain information is required.