Skip to main content
site header image

Finding Historical Newspaper Articles: Wisconsin Newspapers

Information on finding historical newspaper articles in the Andersen Library

Wisconsin Newspapers

The following Wisconsin newspapers are available on microfilm on the first floor of the Library. These newspapers do not have indexes.

  • Janesville Gazette: January 16, 1894 – July 2, 1904; also available, in print, are the last 6 months of issues shelved in the Current Newspapers section on the first floor
  • Milwaukee Advertiser: July 1837 – March 20, 1841 (dates of coverage not complete)
  • Milwaukee Daily Free Democrat: September 1850 – February 1860 (actual newspaper title may vary)
  • Milwaukee Journal: 1890 – March 1995 (later became Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
    • Milwaukee Daily Journal: 1884 – 1890 (later became Milwaukee Journal; shelved as Milwaukee Journal)
  • Milwaukee Sentinel: January 1910 – August 1926
  • Royal Purple: March 1908 – February 1913; April 1, 1913 – May 1998 (also available in print from 1901-present in the Special Collections/Area Research Center)
  • Whitewater Register: March 25, 1857 – 2011; 2012-2013 issues are available in print on the Library's first floor
    • Whitewater Gazette (later became Whitewater Register): August 2; November 22, 1855 – January 1, 1857
  • Wisconsin State Journal: 1985-1998 (available online in the LexisNexis Academic database from 1992-present)
  • Wisconsin Free Democrat: March 20, 1844 – 1860 (dates of coverage not complete; actual newspaper title varies)

Some Wisconsin newspapers are available in the America's Historical Newspapers database. Per the database, "Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing." A full list of newspapers included in the database is available under its Newspaper Titles tab. Some of the Wisconsin titles are: