SECNDED 426: Methods of Teaching English and Language Arts: Finding Videos/Images/Sound

Videos on YouTube are NOT by default freely available for your use.
To get to the creative commons licensed videos,
1. search for a video
2. click the "Filters" dropdown menu at the top of the results list
3. select "Creative Commons."

Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify any files here freely as long as they follow the terms specified by the author; this often means giving credit to the source and author(s).

Search by Creative Commons permissions categories for images you can freely use. The licenses/permission types and meanings are listed to the left.

provides free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, photos and movies, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

provides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with software tools for teaching and research.

Search freely available resources you can use in your university papers and projects, such as photographs, songs to use and remix (royalty-free), and more.

Find millions of Creative Commons photographs that are copyright-free. Look for the Creative Commons icons for the type of permitted use.

Search, manage and add over 190 million free Creative Commons images from many online sources.
The embed code contains all necessary CC attributions.

Images, videos, and music found using Google are NOT automatically available for you to freely use. To get to the images that have a Creative Commons license, narrow your Advanced Image Search results by "usage rights" by clicking on "not filtered by license" and changing that to one of the other available options."

offers access to thousands of images. Many images have information for citing in the catalog record.

“contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site.” You still need to give credit to the photographer who took the photo.

Contains primary source documents, images, and video. Many of the documents and images are in the public domain and can be used with attribution.

This site uses Flicker images and automatically creates an attribution for each downloaded photo.
CORRECT the automatic citation by putting the title of the image in QUOTES.

Looking for something a little more artsy? Unsplash posts 10 totally free photos every 10 days, so the collection is constantly growing.

Use this wiki-style database of images in the Public Domain or with Creative Commons licenses.

contains images from all over the world. The images are for non-profit educational purposes. Give credit to those who created the images.

access to written and spoken word, sound recordings, photos and movies, prints, maps, and sheet music

Search freely available resources you can use in your university papers and projects, such as photographs, songs to use and remix (royalty-free), and more.

Pay attention to which of the copyright licenses apply to the photo, audio file, etc. you want to use. This will tell how you can use it and how you should attribute it. You will still need to cite it in your paper or project.

access audio, complete liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives

Narrow your search on genre, feel, tempo, or length.
Click the Creative Commons link to generate an attribution:
http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/licenses/

music-sharing site where independent artists have uploaded their songs for anyone to listen to and use

thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums and genres