Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

SECNDED 426: Methods of Teaching English and Language Arts: Find Journal Articles

Key Journals: English Language Arts

Below are samples of journals available online through Andersen Library. 

Browse these online journals to become familiar with current topics in the field. To search for a specific topic, use Research@UW-W or one of the databases listed in the Finding Journal Articles tab above.

Patrons having difficulty accessing full-text articles from these journals from off campus, can access these using http://vpn.uww.edu as explained in the Library Troubleshooting Guide or as demonstrated here:

Troubleshooting: How to Access Article Off-campus Using VPN

If you continue experiencing access issues, contact the library.

Faculty may recommend journal subscriptions by using the online request form.

Finding Journals... Using Journal Holdings List

You can also look for journals using the Journal search from the library homepage.

1. Select the Journal tab, and type the title of the journal you are looking for:

journal search button

2. Click View It. Some journals are available full-text. Note the dates of availability. In the example below, the most recent issues are available from NCTE. Click the subscription service (database) link for access. 

most recent English Journal issue

 

Some journals are available through EBSCOHost databases. The link will take you to the subscription service where you can access the year's issues. You may need to expand a year by clicking the "+" symbol:expand year

 

To review the procedure using the Wiley collection,  click here for a video demonstration.

Searching NCTE and Journal Home Pages

The most efficient way to locate numerous articles across a variety of professional journals regarding a specific topic is to use an education database. When you are less interested in quantity and wish to focus on articles in a specific journal, you may search the journal's homepage.

When searching the National Council of English Teacher (NCTE) journals, be sure to search the archives of that specific journal and not the entire website, as shown in the illustration:

NCTE Journal Search