Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

SECNDED 426: Methods of Teaching English and Language Arts: Find Books

Finding Books

Research@UWW 

Find professional reading and resources on your topic in Andersen Library, including books, eBooks, DVDs and videos, and curriculum guides.

Useful subject searches for this course may include:

  • Language arts (Middle School)
  • Language arts (Secondary)
  • English language--Grammar--Study and teaching (Middle school)
  • English language--Grammar--Study and teaching (Secondary)
  • English language--Composition and exercises--Study and teaching (Secondary)
  • English language--Composition and exercises--Study and teaching (Middle school)
  • Literature--Study and teaching (Secondary)

Copy/paste the above subjects into Research@UWW as a starting point.

Research at UWW Book Search

Children's Fiction & Non-fiction

A small, representative collection of children's and young adult fiction and non-fiction is shelved in the Curriculum Collection, located on the east end of the second floor.  The primary purpose of the Curriculum Collection is to support coursework and research dealing with children's and young adult literature.  Several university departments make use of this collection and it contains a variety of representative materials to support their curricula. In addition, faculty, staff, and community members are invited to use the Curriculum Collection with children under their supervishelving for Easy Bookssion.

Non-fiction arranged by the Dewey Decimal System to reflect the call numbers most often used in school and public libraries.  Easy books are picture books aimed at children from birth to grade 4. Juvenile Fiction and Non-Fiction are for grades 5 and up. The Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy book collections circulate for regular loan periods.

Books for the Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy Book collections are selected based on recommendations from faculty  and from award winning book lists. The award lists consulted include the following:

Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Research@UWW Books & Media search button

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, and more at UW-Whitewater.