Research@UWW is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of articles, books, ebooks, government documents, media, images, and more. It searches many, but not all, of the Library's databases. It also searches our physical items and those at other UW system libraries and external partner libraries. If you need more specialized information or want to look at a database not searched by Research@UWW, search individual databases.
Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.
The UWW libraries subscribe to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine, and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations, and the like. Other library databases contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If cannot find useful articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian.
The libraries' databases and Research@UWW can be used on and off campus 24 hours a day. You will be prompted to enter your Net-ID and password to gain access.
Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the UWW libraries. In library databases you will usually see a Find It button that will lead you either to the full text article or to an option for using ILLiad to interlibrary loan the article.
Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the big box on the Library homepage, then choosing a subject on the left side or Databases A-Z on the right side to get lists of databases.
Sample search in databases:
celebrit* AND protest* AND ("african american*" OR black*)
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
Peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, covering 1982-present.
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. See Vendor's guide for useful information.
Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.
Sociology research, including closely related areas of study. Full-text journal articles, plus abstracts for core journals back to 1895.
Full-text access to millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Dove Medical imprints covering many subjects, including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and behavioral sciences.
Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.
The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.
If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are:
Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.