Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Art History 496: Special Topic: What is Islamic Art?: Use Books

Andersen Library Books-Print & Online

Most of the print books listed here are in the Main or New Arrivals location, as noted on the Call Number line.

The print books listed here as being on Reserves, were in that location for spring 2025. If you would like a copy of the book now, borrow it from another library in Research@UWW.

The ebook can be accessed online from anywhere at any time.

Deconstructing the Myths of Islamic Art by Onur Öztürk; Xenia Gazi
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; N6260 .D335 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Addresses how researchers can challenge stereotypical notions of Islam and Islamic art while avoiding the creation of new myths and the encouragement of nationalistic and ethnic attitudes. Islamic art has continued to evolve and shape our understanding of the various civilizations of Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.
The Islamic World: A History in Objects by Ladan Akbarnia; Venetia Porter; Fahmida Suleman; William Greenwood; Zeina Klink-Hoppe; Amandine Mérat
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; DS36.85 .A337 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Illustrated history of the Islamic world from its origins to the present day, covers material culture produced from West Africa to Southeast Asia through art and artefacts, people and places. Text is accompanied by images of architectural decoration, ceramics, jewelry, metalwork, calligraphy, textiles, musical instruments, coins, illustrated manuscripts, and/or modern and contemporary art.
The Image Debate: Figural Representation in Islam and Across the World by Christiane Gruber
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; N7375 .I435 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Essays examine the controversy surrounding the use of images in Islamic and other religious cultures and seek to redress some of the misunderstandings that have arisen. After setting the context, essays cover three topics: pre-modern Islam, the situation outside Islam, and modern and contemporary periods in Islamic lands.
The Praiseworthy One: The Prophet Muhammad in Islamic Texts and Images by Christiane Gruber
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; BP75 .G78 2018
Publication Date: 2019
Covers verbal and visual constructions of the Prophet's character and persona over time, illuminating the critical role Muhammad has played in Muslim constructions of self and community at different times and in various cultural contexts. Focuses on the procedures of narration, veneration, and sacralization.
Islamic Art and the Museum: Approaches to Art and Archaeology of the Muslim World in the Twenty-First Century by Benoît Junod, Georges Khalil, Stefan Weber (Eds.)
Call Number: On order
Publication Date: 2013
Provides an historical and conceptual analysis of Islamic art and documents the successes and failings of its presentation in museums worldwide. Essays cover the extent to which socio-historical and anthropological approaches result in new analytical perspectives of Islamic art. Museums covered in detail include Brooklyn Museum's Arts of the Islamic World Galleries and the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, Ontario.
Islamic Art and Culture: A Visual History by Nassir Khalili
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; N6260 .K43 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a visual history of the peoples, cultures, and artworks that have defined the Islamic world over 1,200 years of history. From Spain to Indonesia, North Africa to China, the material culture of the Muslim people ranges from huge architectural projects to detailed miniature paintings, exquisitely patterned silk textiles, and bold calligraphy. This book reveals the immense heritage handed down through Islamic artists and examines their relationship to their Western peers.
Islamic Art and Visual Culture: An Anthology of Sources by D. Fairchild Ruggles (Ed.)
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, New Arrivals Island, 2nd Floor ; N6260 .I823 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Includes primary sources in translation, with essays that provide insights into the aesthetic and cultural history of Islam. Sources include the Qur'an, court chronicles, treatises on calligraphy and painting, and more. Situates each text and explains the date, place, author, and political conditions under which is was written.
A Companion to Islamic Art and Architecture by Finbarr Barry Flood & Gulru Necipoglu (Eds.)
Call Number: Online (Wiley eBooks)
Publication Date: 2017
Covers neglected aspects of the Islamic art and architecture, including major artistic and political developments over the last 1,400 years of Islam. Subjects include early Islamic art, sacred spaces, palaces, ornament, arts of the book, the portable arts, talismans and magic, museums and collecting, contemporary art worlds, and more.
Islamic Art and Architecture, 650-1250 by Richard Ettinghausen; Oleg Grabar; Marilyn Jenkins-Madina
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, N6260 .E79 2001
Publication Date: 2003
Provides overview of Islamic art and architecture from the 7th-13th centuries. Focuses on the development of regional centers of art in Spain, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Anatolia, Iraq, and Yemen, plus the western and northeastern provinces of Iran. Examines ways of creating a beautiful environment, including textiles, ceramics, metal, wood, and more. Illustrated.
The Art and Architecture of Islam, 1250-1800 by Sheila S. Blair; Jonathan M. Bloom
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, N6260 .B56 1994
Publication Date: 1996
Surveys the architecture and arts of the traditional Islamic lands from the Mongol conquests in the early 13th century to the advent of European colonial rule in the 19th. Describes over two hundred works of Islamic art and considers function, patronage, meaning, and more. Includes an essay on the legacies of Islamic art in Europe and the Islamic lands in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Masterpieces from the Department of Islamic Art in the Metropolitan Museum of Art by Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.) Staff (Contribution by); Maryam Ekhtiar
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, N6263.N4 M47 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Presents nearly 300 masterworks showcasing the diversity and range of Islamic culture. The MET's holdings range chronologically from the origins of Islam in the 7th century through the 19th century, and geographically from as far west as Spain to as far east as Southeast Asia.
Islamic Art in Context: Art, Architecture, and the Literary World by Robert Irwin
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, N6260 .I75 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Surveys Muslim art created between the fifth century CE through the 17th century CE. Covers porcelain, enamel, manuscript illumination, metalwork, calligraphy, textiles, and more. Contexts include patronage, usage and display, Islamic traditions of fine craftsmanship, and the relationship of art to religious practice and belief. Illustrated.
What Is 'Islamic' Art? Between Religion and Perception by Wendy M. K. Shaw
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, N6260 .S56 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Explores painting, music, and geometry through the discursive sphere of historical Islam including the Qur'an, Hadith, Sufism, ancient philosophy, and poetry. Emphasis on reception over production enables a decolonizing model. Covers regions of Islamic hegemony from the 11th century to the modern Middle East.
Global Africa Project by Lowery Stokes Sims and Leslie King-Hammond (eds.)
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2010
This survey of contemporary African art and design challenges presumptions of what constitutes an "African" style or aesthetic in Africa and abroad, and demonstrates the power and expressive potential of materials, textures and forms. Coverage includes works that blur the distinction between art and craft.
Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time: Art, Culture, and Exchange Across Medieval Saharan Africa by Kathleen Bickford Berzock (ed.)
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2019
Draws on archaeological discoveries and art historical research to construct a look at medieval trans-Saharan exchange and its legacy. Covers key medieval cities; networks of exchange for gold, copper, and ivory; medieval glass bead production. Demonstrates how the rootedness of place, culture, and tradition is closely tied to the circulation of people, objects, and ideas. Illustrated.
Mohamed Zakariya: A 21st Century Master Calligrapher by Mohamed Zakariya; Nancy Micklewright (ed.)
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2022
Studies the life and impact of Mohamed Zakariya, a contemporary American artist, whose pursuit of Islamic calligraphy lead to a uniquely American version of the practice. Accounts are told from a variety of perspectives, which results in a nuanced, thoughtful presentation of a complex and brilliant artist.
How to Read Islamic Calligraphy by Maryam D. Ekhtiar
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2018
Explores calligraphy over centuries as a means of creative expression throughout the Islamic world on items such as manuscripts, glass, metalware, and ceramic tiles. Introduces all five major Islamic calligraphic script types, demonstrates their visual characteristics, and explains the contexts in which each one came to be used. Illustrated.
Islamic Calligraphy by Sheila S. Blair
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780748635405
Publication Date: 2008
Designed to meet the demands not only of anyone interested in Arabic writing, but also of specialists. This is the first reference work on art of beautiful writing in Arabic script. Explains this art form and shows how to identify, understand and appreciate its varied styles and modes. Offers a standardized terminology for identifying and describing various styles of Islamic calligraphy, and to help Westerners appreciate why calligraphy has long been so important in Islamic civilization. Examples are chosen from dated or datable examples with secure provenance. Illustrated.
Traces of the Calligrapher: Islamic Calligraphy in Practice, ca. 1600-1800 by David J. Roxburgh; Mary McWilliams
Call Number: UW-Whitewater, Reserves, 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2008
Islamic calligraphy is a beautiful writing practice that constitutes an expression of piety. This book portrays the world of the calligrapher during the 17th-19th centuries in India, Iran, and Turkey. It brings together "tools of the trade" with the art made with them. Features pens, pen boxes, chests, tables, paper scissors, knives, burnishers, and book bindings, accompanied by examples of calligraphy. Illustrated.

Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, articles, and more at UW-Whitewater.

Ebook Central Search

Ebook Central, is a large ebook database subscribed to by the Andersen Library. It contains over 120,000 online books on a wide variety of topics. Search it by typing your query in the box below.

Art History 496: Special Topic: What is Islamic Art?

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Books-Print & Online

Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Ebook Central Search