Research, Citation, & Class Guides: History 465: Mongols: Secondary Sources

Books

The Mongol Art of War by Timothy May
Describing the make-up of the Mongol army from its inception to the demise of the Mongol Empire, the author examines the recruitment, weaponry, and training of the Mongol warrior.
The Mongols' Middle East by Bruno De Nicola (Editor); Charles Melville (Editor)
The Mongols' Middle East: Continuity and Transformation in Ilkhanid Iran offers a collection of academic articles that investigate different aspects of Mongol rule in 13th- and 14th-century Iran. Sometimes treated only as part of the larger Mongol Empire, the volume focuses on the Ilkhanate (1258-1335) with particular reference to its relations with its immediate neighbours.
Defending Heaven: China's Mongol Wars, 1209-1370 by James Waterson
Defending Heaven brings together, for the first time in one volume, a complete history of the Jin, Song and Ming dynasties' wars fought against the Mongols.
Islamization and Native Religion in the Golden Horde by Devin DeWeese
This book is the first substantial study of Islamization in any part of Inner Asia from any perspective and the first to emphasize conversion narratives as important sources for understanding the dynamics of Islamization.
Mongol Empire in Global History and Art History by Anne Dunlop (Editor)
Contributors include specialists of Mongol history and historiography as well as Islamic, East Asian, and European art, writing on topics from historical chronicles to contemporary historiography, and case studies from textile production to mapmaking and historical linguistics.
The Imperial Harem by Leslie P. Peirce
The Imperial Harem argues that the exercise of political power was tied to definitions of sexuality. Within the dynasty, the hierarchy of female power, like the hierarchy of male power, reflected the broader society's control for social control of the sexually active.
Women and the Making of the Mongol Empire by Anne F. Broadbridge
This book positions women in their rightful place in the otherwise well-known story of Chinggis Khan and his conquests and empire.

Finding Articles

JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
History Reference Source
Full text for more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias, books, and articles from nearly 170 history periodicals. Can also use their browseable interface here .
International Medieval Bibliography
The major citation index to medieval studies (c. 400-1500), covering articles in approximately 4500 journals and "miscellany" volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften).
Brill E-book Collections
E-books on a variety of social science subjects from history to religious studies, linguistics to philosophy.
Subjects include Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, and Social Sciences.
International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists; published in German. To read articles in English, select entries that have [IEMA] after the headword.
Note: This resource is limited to 1 user at a time.
Project Muse
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Providing access to articles about a wide range of subjects throughout history, each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire, and the Modern Age.
World History (Gale)
Scholarly journals and magazines on world history, useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.

History 465: Mongols

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Books

Finding Articles