Art History 420: Art Theory

This is the 2nd edition of a widely acclaimed, authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary written by an international team of contributors.

This volume is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains origins of the tradition,key influential thinkers, and more.

Articles provided by "distinguished voices" in the field of Africana philosophy and African-American social and political thought.

This volume of commissioned essays provides comprehensive coverage of African philosophy, ranging across disciplines and throughout the ages, with a distinctive historical treatment of African philosophy. Covers all the main branches of philosophy as addressed in the African tradition. Includes accounts of pre-colonial African philosophy and contemporary political thought.

Comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Western philosophy, not only a convenient reference work, but also as an engaging introduction to philosophy.

Contemporary Perspectives in Critical and Social Philosophy brings together essays concerning ways of conceptualizing maternities, subjectivities, and recognition.

This encyclopedic dictionary provides almost 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages and spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these terms influence thinking across the humanities. Entries are written by more than 150 distinguished scholars.

Presents a broad survey of philosophical thought, exploring and placing in context major areas of philosophical inquiry. Includes a chronology of the history of philosophy from 1600. Andersen Library has the 10-volume 1998 set in print on the 3rd-floor Main Collection at B51 .R68 1998.

Addresses both the physiological and the psychological aspects of human behavior. Divided into categories including Applied Ethics; Bioethics; Computers and Information Management; Economics/Business; Environmental Ethics; Ethics and Politics; Legal; Medical Ethics; Philosophy/Theories; Social; and Social/Media.

Covers Chinese thought, from earliest recorded times to the present day. Included are concepts, movements, philosophical works, a survey of the history of Chinese philosophy, and entries on all major thinkers from Confucius to Mou Zongsan.

2nd Edition. All articles are peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies were updated throughout.

This extensive glossary of the main terms and concepts in Eastern philosophy includes definitions of philosophical ideas linked to the national traditions of: Persia, India, Islamic world, China, Japan, and Tibet including concepts from Zoroastrianism, Hinduism, Sufism, Islam, Confucianism, Shintoism, Taoism, and Buddhism.

The handbook provides introductions to the world's major non-European philosophical traditions, including Chinese, Indian, Buddhist, East Asian, African, and Recent Trends in Global Philosophy.

This excerpts the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume, including over 900 entries that cover major philosophers, themes, movements and periods.

A guide to modern ideas in the fields of cultural and critical theory Updated to feature pieces on Alain Badiou, Ecocriticism, Comparative Racialization , Ordinary Language Philosophy and Criticism, and Graphic Narrative Includes reflective. Wide-ranging content makes this dictionary for students of a diverse range of disciplines.

This guide examines some of the most complex and fundamental theories in modern scholarship including: Marxism Trauma Theory Ecocriticism Psychoanalysis Feminism Posthumans Gender and Queer Theory Structuralism Narrative Postcolonialism Deconstruction Postmodernism .

The contributions rethink concepts of critique that influence the field of design, question inherent blind spots of the discipline, and expand understandings of what critical design practices could be. With contributions from design theory, practice and education, art theory, philosophy, and informatics

Presents an authoritative A-Z of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture. Explores the names and ideas that have come to define the postmodern condition.

Explores modern and contemporary political thought since 1750, looking at the thinkers, concepts, debates, issues, and national traditions that have shaped political thought. Concepts including class, democratic theory, liberalism, nationalism, natural and human rights, and theories of the state.