In addition to searching Research@UWW, you are encouraged to search some individual databases (collections) in order to find additional articles and other sources on your research topic. This is because only some of the content (articles, ebooks, data, etc.) from our databases can be found in Research@UWW. You will likely find more information by searching in multiple places.
Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for articles at UW-Whitewater.
The UWW libraries subscribe to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine, and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations, and the like. Other library databases contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If cannot find useful articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian.
The libraries' databases and Research@UWW can be used on and off campus 24 hours a day. You will be prompted to enter your Net-ID and password to gain access.
Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the UWW libraries. In library databases you will usually see a Find It button that will lead you either to the full text article or to an option for using ILLiad to interlibrary loan the article.
Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the big box on the Library homepage, then choosing a subject on the left side or Databases A-Z on the right side to get lists of databases.
Sample search in library databases:
"extreme sport*" AND (wom* OR female*)
Peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.
Hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences. UW System funds the ebooks that are included.
Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.
The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.
If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are:
Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.
Another resource you can use to find scholarly sources is Google Scholar. It is searched the same way as regular Google, but you will find better quality materials when using it. Google Scholar primarily finds scholarly journal articles, but also finds books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources published by academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, etc. You won't find everything that was created ever, or even everything that the UW-Whitewater libraries have, but it can be a useful tool.
On the UW-Whitewater campuses, Google Scholar is set up to automatically interact with Find It, a tool that will find you the full text of articles and books we have or offer you a way to borrow them for free if we do not. However, Find It does not show up for every citation that appears in Google Scholar. If no Find It link appears, try the Journal Search to see whether and where we have a particular journal, magazine or newspaper and what dates are available.
Do not pay for articles you find through Google Scholar. We can get them for you for free using ILL (interlibrary loan)!
To set up the Find It/Google Scholar interactivity on your personal desktop computer, laptop, tablet, etc. follow these instructions: