Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Graduate Courses in Education: Find Articles Using Academic Databases

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, using education databases will provide fewer, but more focused results.

Below are some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete list.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Even though this is a general database, some educational topics are covered.
“You may browse content on the EBSCOlearning site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.”.
Please see EBSCOlearning Quick Start Guide for further instructions and information.
Education Source
Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Educational Administration Abstracts
covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other key areas.
Library & Information Science Source
Includes full text for more than 460 publications and indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, books, research reports and proceedings covering information on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. Also available via Badgerlink to all Wisconsin residents.
PsycArticles
Provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines. Use especially for topics in special education and counseling.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Covers sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Full-text access to sports and sports medicine journals, including the areas of fitness, health, and sport studies.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)
The world's largest source of education information. More than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, some linking out to full text.

Search Tips: Searching with Key Words

Here are some search tips to remember when searching the databases.

1. Be sure to mark the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limit when searching for peer reviewed articles.

2. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "health education", "type II diabetes")

3. Use the word "AND" between different concepts.

4. Use the word "OR" between similar concepts.

5. A common truncation symbol in the databases is the asterisk symbol *. Using this will allow you to search for various forms of the word in one step. For example, strateg* will search for strategy, strategies, strategize, and strategic.

Here are some example searches:

("experimental methods" or "nontraditional education" or "experimental teaching") and autism
(treatment* or strateg* or approach* or method*) and "Prader Willi Syndrome"
"health education" and (certif* or credent*)

Graduate Courses in Education

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Find the Full Text

Option 1:

Option 2:

Option 3:

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

Search Tips: Searching with Key Words