Magazines for Assignment - English 102: College Writing (Prof. Annucci) - Online Class - Research, Citation, & Class Guides at University of Wisconsin Whitewater

Select Online Magazines

The Andersen Library has a large number of online magazines. Those magazines listed below include at least some articles from 1980-2000 unless otherwise noted. They were selected because for their content, and because most provide PDFs that show each article in the context of the page, including other articles, advertisements, etc., which will help you with the assignment.

To access these magazines, click on their titles and log in with your Net-ID and password. You will then need to use multifactor authentication.

To search most of these magazines, enter words and phrases box in the appropriate box following this formula: "artificial intelligence" AND misinformation. If a different formula is needed, it will be noted.

Atlantic Monthly
Full text articles for 1993-present.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Select "Atlantic Monthly," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: choose dates and issues listed on the side.
Choose the PDF full text option to get the article in context.
Better Homes and Gardens
Full text articles for 2017-present.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Select "Atlantic Monthly," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.
Field & Stream
Full text articles for 1968-2008.
Organized in reverse date order, but you can jump back to older issues.
To search use the "book search"--even though this is a magazine--at the bottom of the page using this formula: "field & stream" moose.
Futurist
Full text articles for 1988-2015.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
Select "Search within this Publication" to look for articles or choose an issue to view.
Choose the Full Text - PDF option to get the article in context.
Jet
Full text for 1950-2009.
Organized in 5 year batches. You would select 1980 to see all magazine issues for 1980-1984. Select the issue you want and then the issue cover to page through it.
To search, check the "Search All Issues" box and type a search in the "search inside" box using this formula: "will smith" rap
Life
Articles from 1936-1972.
To browse: Select a year and then an issue cover.
To search: check the "Search All Issues" box and type a search in the "search inside" box using this formula: "rolling stones" fans
The Nation
Full text articles 1975-present.
To search: Enter text after the magazine title in the "Search within this Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.
Popular Mechanics
Full text articles from 1996-present.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Select "Popular Mechanics," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.
Psychology Today
Full text articles 1992-present.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Select "Psychology Today," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.
Times Literary Supplement (TLS)
Full text from 2012-present.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Enter a search in the "Search Within Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Full text appears in the item record, however, to get it in context of the page with images, select Download and then print or email that PDF.
Harper's
Full text from 1992-2007.
Searches also find older articles, which can be ordered.
To search: Select "Psychology Today," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.
Time Magazine
Full text available from 1923-present.
Older articles are not in context, newer ones are.
To search: Select "Time Magazine," then enter a search in the "Search Within This Publication" box.
To browse: Choose dates and issues from the list on the side.
Choose the Access button to get the full text.

Select Print Magazines in Andersen Library

The Andersen Library has a limited number of print magazines. These listed below include articles from 1980-2000 at a minimum. They are located on the first floor. Print issues are in the tall Bound Periodicals shelving units/stacks. Microfilm and Microfiche are in cabinets. They are arranged alphabetically by the magazine title.

Library staff will re-shelve your magazines after you are done using them, so please them on one of the black carts scattered around the first floor.

Amateur Wrestling News (Print)
Bound Stacks 1964-2009 (with gaps)
American Artist (Print)
Bound Stacks 1945-2012 (with gaps).
American Forests (Print)
Bound Stacks 1931-2010
Archaeology (Print)
Bound Stacks (first floor) 1959-2020
Architectural Digest (Print)
Bound Stacks 1975-2020
Art in America (Print)
Bound Stacks 1939-2021 (with gaps)
Audubon (Print)
Bound Stacks 1968-2015 (with gaps)
Better Homes and Gardens (Print)
Bound Stacks 1939-2020
Business Week (Print)
Microfilm (with gaps) from 1929-2000.
Bound Stacks (print, with gaps) from 1932-1975 and 1993-1995.
Commonweal (Print)
Microfiche (with gaps) 1924-1997.
Bound Stacks (print, with gaps) 1938-2009.
Economist (Print)
Bound Stacks (print, with gaps)1968-1971 & 1992-1995.
Microfilm1843-1999.
Essence (Print)
Bound Stacks (print) 1978-2021
Fortune (Print)
Bound Stacks (print, with gaps) 1930-1959 & 1995-2020 (with gaps).
Microfiche 1960-1992.
Futurist (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print) 1972-2009 (with gaps).
Microfiche 1987-1992.
Ladies Home Journal (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print, with gaps) 1950-1974.
Microfiche 1975-2010.
Life (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print, with gaps) 1938-2000.
National Geographic (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print) 1971-2020.
Popular Photography (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print) 1953-1974 & 1993-2002 (with gaps).
Vogue (Print)
Bound Stacks (Print) - 1951-2021.
Harper's (Print)
Fiche 1976-1998.
Bound Stacks (Print) 1999-2022.
Time Magazine (Print)
Full text from 1972-2008.

Magazines - Check Your Local Library

If you do not live near UW-Whitewater or cannot come to our library, here is list of recommended magazines you can look for at your local academic or public library.

The Atlantic
Better Homes & Gardens
Cosmopolitan
Esquire
Essence
Field & Stream
Good Housekeeping
Life
Outdoor Life
Popular Science
Vogue

English 102: College Writing (Prof. Annucci) - Online Class

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Select Online Magazines

Select Print Magazines in Andersen Library

Magazines - Check Your Local Library