The UWW Libraries subscribe to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and more. Online databases are the preferred way to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using online databases, ask a Librarian for assistance with researching and using other resources. Databases list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library.
Databases and the full text articles they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.
Access more databases than those listed below by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the Library homepage.
Sample search in Academic Search Complete:
"extreme sport*" AND (women OR female*)
How do you know whether an article is scholarly or not? Check out the Scholarly Journal v. Popular Magazine Articles guide.
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
This link opens in a new window
Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for articles at UW-Whitewater.
Most databases have some full text articles and/or chapters in addition to citations. To access the full text there will be a button or text to click on that says something like: PDF, HTML, or Full Text.
When an article is not available in that database, use 
button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. One of several things will happen when you click on it.
If you have a citation for something UWW does not have access to AND are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If:
UW-Whitewater has it, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it. UW-Whitewater does NOT have it, go to the library homepage, select My Accounts, and Logon to ILLiad, then fill out the request form.
In the Get It section you will see other ways to access the full text of the article. Either:
UW-Whitewater has the item physically in one of the UWW libraries. If at your campus, you will go to the listed collection to get it. If at the other campus, use the "Request" option to have it sent to your campus. Some people who fit this set of criteria can use ILLiad to have articles or book chapters scanned as a PDFs for you to access online. UW-Whitewater does NOT have the needed item in one of the UWW libraries. Select Please sign in for more request options --> Sign in. Select UW-W Students / Staff Login >, and then Log in. Complete the multifactor authentication through Duo. Click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) for articles and chapters or UW-Request for books, media, government and other items.
How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video
Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.
Get 24/7 help via live chat
Make an appointment with a Librarian
During Reference Desk Hours:
262-472-1032
Text us! 262-500-3393
Email