Research, Citation, & Class Guides: CORE 110: World of the Arts: Cite It Right

Why Cite?

Documenting your sources is a necessity, which:

Allows readers to find your sources;
Provides evidence for your arguments;
Adds credibility to your work;
Avoids plagiarism, the consequence of which could be an allegation of academic misconduct.

Each paper or project you work on will use just one citation style.

MLA Style (9th ed.)

Whether you choose to quote, summarize, or paraphrase sources you use in your research paper, you must cite each one. For guidelines and examples, look here:

MLA Style
Citation and paper formatting guide created at UW-Whitewater. Based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (9th ed.)
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (9th ed.)
Print book available at UW-Whitewater, Reference Collection and Main Collection, Call Number LB2369 .M52 2021
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (9th ed.)
Created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). Based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (9th ed.)
MLA Documentation Guide (8th ed.)
Created by the Writing Center at UW-Madison. Based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (8th ed.)

If you use online citation formatters provided free on the internet or within a library database. Remember that computer generated citations are not foolproof. Be sure to review them for accuracy.

This video has good tips for Using a Citation from a Citation Generator.

If you are writing a long paper or thesis and want help organizing your sources and citations, try Zotero or EndNote, both of which the library supports.

Turabian Style (9th ed.)

Whether you choose to quote, summarize, or paraphrase sources you use in your research paper, you must cite each one. For rules and examples, look here:

Turabian Style
Citation and paper formatting guide created at UW-Whitewater. Based on A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers (9th ed.)
By Kate Turabian, 9th ed. 2018. UW-Whitewater, Reference Collection, LB2369 .T8 2018

This video has good tips for Using a Citation from a Citation Generator.

If you are writing a long paper or thesis and want help organizing your sources and citations, try Zotero or EndNote, both of which the library supports.