Theatre 332: Directing I

Call numbers on library books group them by topic. Books dealing with theatre and drama topics in most of the library collections (Main Collection, Reference, etc.) fall in several areas of the Library of Congress Classification System, depending on the subtopic. Within lettered areas, numbers are used to further subdivide the topics. You can use this information to browse library shelves.

LC Classes and descriptions

Class G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation

Subclass GT Manners and Customs (General)

GT 500-GT 2370: Costume. Dress. Fashion.
GT 2290-GT 2341: Hair. Hairdressing. Cosmetics.
GT 1747: Masks

Class N Fine Arts

NA1-9428: Architecture
ND 2885: Scene painting
NK 8802-NK8998: Textiles

Class P Language & Literature

Subclass PN Literature (General)

PN 1600-PN 3307: Drama
PN 2068: Theatrical makeup
PN 2091 .E4: Stage lighting
PN 2091 .S8: Theaters --Stage setting and scenery
PN 2061-PN 2071: Acting
PN 2067: Costumes
PN 2080: Monologues
PN 2085-PN 2096: The stage and accessories
PN 2091 .S6: Sound effects
PN 2131-PN 2145: Ancient theater history
PN 2152-PN 2160: Medieval theater history
PN 2171-PN 2179: Renaissance theater history
PN 2181-PN 2193: Modern theater history
PN 3035: The Jewish theater
PN 6110.5-PN 6120: Play collections

Subclass PR English Literature

PR 621-PR 744: English literature-drama

Subclass PR American Literature

PS 330-PS 353 American literature-drama

Class T Technology

TS Manufactures

TS545-TT850 Costumes -- Construction

These call number ranges, which are defined by Library of Congress Classification System (LCCS) Classes, provide you the information needed to browse the UW-Whitewater libraries' shelves in the areas most likely to have what you want.

The UW-W libraries organize our Main, Main Oversize, and Browsing, DVD Academic, and some other collections using the LCCS. This system groups similar items together using the predominant subject of the item. To facilitate efficient browsing of our collections for theatre materials, we have listed the most useful LC Classes below.

You can browse collections in person in the libraries and also browse all the collections combined in Research@UWW. To browse online:

1. On the libraries' homepage, click on the Research@UWW Search button
2. In the top bar select Browse
3. Change Browse by Subject to Browse by Library of Congress Call Numbers
4. Enter a call number to start with in the "Enter Term" box
5. Select the search button
6. Select an item title to find out more about the item and to get the library collection and floor that goes with the item's call number.

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, articles, and more at UW-Whitewater.