This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "UWSSLEC Distance Education Program Toolkit" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UWSSLEC Distance Education Program Toolkit   Tags: course_guides, education, library_media  

for students in UWSSLEC taking classes through UW-Whitewater
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/uwsslec Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is this?

This guide is designed to help students in the UWSSLEC (University of Wisconsin System School Library Education Consortium) Distance Education Program find the Library resources needed for their research.

 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262.472.1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours
Summer 2010

Monday-Thursday
9 AM - 9 PM
Friday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
closed
Sunday
noon - 8 PM

 

Selected Article Databases

Below is a list of some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles in the areas of education and library media.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost  
Although this is a multi-disciplinary database, there are many articles related to education and library media. Because this database includes magazine and newspapers articles in addition to journal articles, you might want to check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" checkbox when searching. This database includes nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) UWW access only   
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. If you want to exclude ERIC documents from the results list, limit your search to "journal articles." There is also a "Peer Reviewed" limit in ERIC to retrieve scholarly articles.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCOhost) UWW access only
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. If you are looking for scholarly journal articles, there is a limit called "Academic Journal" under the "Publication Type" limit.

Education Full Text (WilsonWeb : 1983- ) UWW access only
Covers 423 core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues. Includes abstracts from January 1994 and indexing from June 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) UWW access only
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhostUWW access only
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 550 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.

Educational Administrative Abstracts (EBSCOhost)  UWW access only 
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other key areas. The index contains more than 66,000 records.

 

Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip