Finding Articles-Basics/Refresher
Federal LegislationGAO ReportsCRS reportsCongressional Content in ProQuest Congressional database
This is the "Home" page of the "POLISCI 330 Public Policy Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

An online course guide for researching government programs as part of policy analysis for POLISCI 330
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/polsci330 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help?

Reference Desk Phone:
(262) 472-1032

E-mail: Ask a Librarian
Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk hours (Spring 2012)

Monday-Thursday: 9am-10pm
Friday: 9am-5pm
Sunday: 1pm-5pm,6-10pm

 

Working Off Campus

Databases and the full text articles they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus (for off-campus work start by clicking on "Off Campus Login" in the top right corner of the Library's web page and logging in with your UWW Net-ID, because that will enable you to access all subscription resources the only our UWW students may use) .

 

Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

 

General Resources

  • HAL CAT (Library Catalog)
    Find resources on your topic in Andersen Library, including books, DVDs and videos, government publications, and more.
  • Articles in Journals, Magazines and Newspapers
    Online article indexes and databases available through the Library. Search these resources to find articles on your topic in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Indexes and databases are available via the alphabetical listing, or divided by broad subject area. Suggested databases for this class are found in the Finding Articles section of this guide.
  • Citation Linker
    If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker allows you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.
  • Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print UWW access only
    Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by title.
 

Looking Up a Citation?

If you have found (or been given) a book or article that is very relevant for your topic, review the list of references (the resources used by the authors). Some of these cited works may be helpful to you also. To find cited books or articles, where you look depends on what it is:

Is it a book (or book chapter or government document or videorecording)?

  • Search HALcat (Library Catalog)  for the title or author. To find a chapter in a book, look for the BOOK's title.
  • Search other UW libraries (using "Universal Borrowing") for the title or author. If it's at another UW library you may be able to request that it be sent to Andersen Library for your use (see the tab "Articles & Books Not at Andersen Library" in this guide).

Is it an article (in a journal, magazine, or newspaper)?

  • Citation Linker
    Type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.
  • Journal Holdings List UWW access only
    Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by JOURNAL's title.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Barbara Bren
Contact Info
Andersen Library L2110C
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main St.
Whitewater, WI 53190
(262)472-5521
brenb@uww.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip