This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "LIBMEDIA 454/654: Library and Media Center Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LIBMEDIA 454/654: Library and Media Center Administration   Tags: course_guides, education, library_media  

Class Resource & Assignment Guide for Library Media 454/654
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/libmedia454-654 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is this?

This guide is designed to help students in Library Media 454/654 find the Library resources needed for their research.

 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262.472.1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours
Intersession 2012

Monday-Thursday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
CLOSED
Sunday
CLOSED

 

Selected Article Databases

Below is a list of some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles for your assignments in Library Media 454/654. 

ERIC (EBSCOhost) UWW access only   
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. EBSCO links to EDRS to get full text (starting 1996) of many ERIC Documents (ED). Off Campus students will need to use the E*Subscribe link below. Andersen Library owns the complete microfiche set of the ERIC ED documents.

Education Full Text (WilsonWeb : 1983- ) UWW access only
Covers 423 core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues. Includes abstracts from January 1994 and indexing from June 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text (EBSCOhostUWW access only
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) UWW access only
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost)  UWW access only 
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other key areas. The index contains more than 66,000 records.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhostUWW access only
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 550 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  UWW access only
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Even though this is a general database, some educational topics are covered.

 

Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip