This is the "Home" page of the "Locating Job and Career Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Job and Career Information   Tags: careers, internships, jobs, resumes, subject_guides  

This is a guide to web sites and library resources for locating job and career information.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/jobs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262.472.1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours
Intersession 2012

Monday-Thursday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
CLOSED
Sunday
CLOSED

 

Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

 

Campus Career Services

Career and Leadership Development - (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater)
Information on the job search, careers, internships, and much more. Includes a link to the their eRecruiting service, Hawk Jobs. A must-see for UWW students!

 

General Library Resources

HALCAT (Harold Andersen Library Catalog)
Find books, videos, journals, pamphlets and government publications on your topic.

  • Career Information Center REF HF5382.5 .U5 C32 2002 13 volumes
    Contains background information, education and training requirements, employment outlook, information about getting the job, working conditions, and earnings and benefits for a variety of careers.
  • College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs REF HF5382.5 .U5 F644 2004
    For each field of study, this resource identifies related occupations and lists the necessary skills and degrees required, employment outlook, and more.
  • Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance REF HF5381 .E52 2008 5 volumes
    Vol. 1 describes career fields, including background and outlook for each field. Look up specific jobs described in vols. 2-5 using the job title index in any volume.
  • New Guide for Occupational Exploration REF HF5382.5 .U5 F37 2006
    Part 1 of this guide helps you explore career options based on your interests. Part 2 contains descriptions for almost 1,000 jobs related to those interests.
  • The O*Net Online - (U.S. Department of Labor)
    Detailed descriptions of many occupations, including information on earnings, education and skills needed, related jobs, etc.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook REF DESK L 2.3/4: (current edition)
    Revised every two years. Find specific careers by using Table of Contents or Index. Updated quarterly by the Occupational Outlook Quarterly (see Journal Holdings List for locations). The Handbook is also located online at: http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm.
  • Occupations Handbook REF HF5381 .A1 O33 2002/2004

To find more resources on this topic, search the online library catalog for the following SUBJECT headings:

  • Occupations
  • Vocational Guidance

Then choose the sub-heading from the results list that is most appropriate for your interests. For example, if you are looking for job information in Wisconsin, select Occupations--Wisconsin. Consult a reference librarian if you need assistance.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Ronna Timmerman
Contact Info
Andersen Library
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
800 W. Main St.
Whitewater, WI 53190
hoeperr@uww.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip