Reference Desk Hours* (Interim 2016)
*UW-W librarians chat online summer Wednesdays 5pm-9pm, but not during interim
*Online chat is always available
Check here for schedule exceptions.
= Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.
Reference books can be a valuable source of background information on many research topics. The Library has thousands of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, and many other types of reference works. These books often include bibliographies of additional research resources on topics of interest, so they can be a good starting point for your research. And of course, the Library has all the general reference sources like Encyclopedia Britannica (print and online).
If you are ready to jump right in, here are the main places to start:
- Research@UWW - Find "Everything" (articles, books, & more)
This discovery tool searches multiple resources simultaneously (articles from many disciplines, books, ebooks, videos, digital resources, government documents, etc.), or you can change from searching "Everything" to only "Articles" or just our local resources (not articles), i.e., UWW's books, media, government documents, and more.
- Articles & Databases by Title
Online research databases available through the Library. Search these resources to find articles and other information on your topic, primarily in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Databases are available via the alphabetical listing, or divided by broad subject area on the right.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar can help you find both books and articles, but if you use Google Scholar from off campus, configure the settings to use Andersen Library's full text subscription access.
Use this search to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by periodical title, as opposed to article title.
- Reference Universe
Find entries in reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.), whether online or in print. Helpful for understanding unfamiliar terminology!