What is This?
This guide is designed to aid you in researching careers. The resources listed here were chosen for their general appeal; you will also want to look for resources specific to your particular career, or aspects of your career. Some obstacles that need to be overcome may be found in the books and websites listed here. To find more in-depth information about an obstacle, look in article databases.
Reference Desk Hours (Spring Break 2015)
Saturday-Sunday Mar. 21-22: closed
Monday-Friday Mar. 23-27: 9am-4:30pm
Saturday Mar. 28: closed
Sunday Mar. 29: 3pm-10pm
Reference Desk Hours (Spring 2015)
Sunday: 1pm-5pm & 6pm-10pm
Check schedule exceptions here.
= Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.
If you are ready to jump right in, here are the main places to start:
- Research@UWW - Find "Everything" (articles, books, & more)
This discovery tool searches multiple resources simultaneously (articles from many disciplines, books, ebooks, videos, digital resources, government documents, etc.), or you can change from searching "Everything" to only "Articles" or just our local resources (not articles), i.e., UWW's books, media, government documents, and more.
- Articles & Databases by Title
Online research databases available through the Library. Search these resources to find articles and other information on your topic, primarily in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Databases are available via the alphabetical listing, or divided by broad subject area on the right.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar can help you find both books and articles, but if you use Google Scholar from off campus, configure the settings to use Andersen Library's full text subscription access.
- Citation Linker
If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker allows you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.
- Journal Holdings List
Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by periodical title, as opposed to article title.
- Reference Universe
Find entries in reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.), whether online or in print. Helpful for understanding unfamiliar terminology!