This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "EDUINDP 211: Introduction to Early Childhood Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDUINDP 211: Introduction to Early Childhood Education   Tags: course_guides, early_childhood_education, education_resources  

Class Resource & Assignment Guide for EDUINDP 211
Last Updated: Jul 20, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/eduindp211 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is this?

This guide is designed to help students in the course, Introduction to Early Childhood Education, find the Library resources needed for their research.

 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: (262) 472-1032

E-mail: Ask a Librarian
Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours (Spring 2012)

Monday-Thursday: 9am-10pm
Friday: 9am-5pm
Saturday: 1pm-5 pm
Sunday: 1pm-5pm & 6pm-10pm
For exceptions, see here.

 

Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

 

Finding Articles in Education

Look in the following databases to locate articles related to Education.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) UWW access only   
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Andersen Library owns the microfiche set of the ERIC ED documents, and many are now available partial/full text on the Internet.

Education Full Text (WilsonWeb : 1983- ) UWW access only
Covers 423 core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues. Includes abstracts from January 1994 and indexing from June 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) UWW access only
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhostUWW access only
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 550 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.

PsycINFO (EBSCOhostUWW access only   
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Includes PsycLit database.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  UWW access only
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Even though this is a general database, some educational topics are covered.

Biography Reference Bank Select (WilsonWeb) UWW access only
Contains almost 40,000 full text biographies of authors, artists, film directors, Nobel Prize winners, American reformers, and more. Use this database to look for biographical information about an educator.

These tools are useful when you have a known citation and want to see if the library has the article available.

Journal Holdings: Electronic & Print UWW access only
Use this list to find out whether the Library owns a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper, as well as the dates and formats available. Search by title.

Citation Linker UWW access only
If you already have an article citation, Citation Linker allows you to type in the citation and link to a menu of options for finding the full text of the article.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip