Is It Scholarly?
Sample Annotation
This is the "Citing References" page of the "EDFOUND 243: Foundations of Education in a Pluralistic Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDFOUND 243: Foundations of Education in a Pluralistic Society   Tags: course_guides, durst, edfound 243, edfound243, education, educational_foundations, elliott, porterfield  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/edfound243 Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing References Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writers' Manuals: APA

Go to the source for accurate style information. Copies are available online, in Reference, and in the Main Collection. Stop at the Reference Desk for assistance.

Cover Art
APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th ed. e-book  Icon
Call Number: Online
Online access available only to UWW patrons.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Copies at Ref Desk, Reference, and 3rd Floor: BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009

 

Avoiding Plagiarism

1. Be familiar with UW-System and UWW policies regarding academic misconduct:

2. Keep track of all sources that you use while gathering resources, including print and online. Regardless of whether you think you may not use a certain bit of information in your final work, but it is easier than trying to track down its source later. Consider using Citation Management Software such as EndNote Web, Zotero, or other online tools for assistance.

3. Review writing techniques for referencing others' ideas in your writing, while giving due credit:

4. Make an appointment with the tutors at the UW-Whitewater Writing Center or sign up for a workshop. Cybertutoring is available for distance students.

  


Citations in APA

Citing Sources: APA Style

Many databases offer a "Cite" tool. Use these a starting point for building your References page; however, as these are often inaccurate, verify provided citations by checking them against a writers' manual or style guide.

Organizing References Using Citation Management Tools

You may be familiar with online citation generators such as Bibme.org or Son of Citation Machine. Using citation management software such as EndNote Web or Zotero, you can do much more, such as managing citations and references from any number of databases in one place. In addition, you can:

  • Quickly add references to your collection while you search databases in Web of Science, EBSCOhost, and others.
  • Organize references in folders for online access and use at any time.
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles.
  • Share reference collections and collaborate with colleagues.
  • Use Cite While You Write (CWYW: EndNote) or similar plugins to automatically add citations and references while you write in Microsoft Word and other word processing programs.

Andersen Library currently provides assistance with the following two citation managers, EndNote Web and Zotero, which are recommended especially for students in upper level courses requiring literature reviews or the collection of numerous references:

  • UWW Sign Up for a Workshop
    Andersen Library offers workshops for citation management tools. Check the schedule and sign up here.
  • Citation Managers Comparison Chart (UW-Madison Libraries)
    Which citation manager should I choose?
    If you aren't sure which to use, talk with one of our reference librarians.
  • EndNote Basic
    (Formerly EndNote Web) Subscription is provided free of charge to UWW students, faculty, and staff through Web of Knowledge and Web of Science.
    Visit the EndNote Web LibGuide for more information.
  • EndNote Web LibGuide
    Learn more about EndNote Web, including tips from a Whitewater Reference Librarian.
  • Zotero
    Freely available.
    Visit the Zotero LibGuide for more information.
  • Zotero LibGuide
    Learn more about Zotero, including tips and tricks from a Whitewater Reference Librarian.
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip