Skip to Main Content
site header image

Upward Bound: Finding Articles

Find the Full Text From a Database

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles and/or chapters in addition to citations. To access the full text there will be a button or text to click on that says something like: PDF, HTML, or Full Text.

When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. One of several things will happen when you click on it.

  1. You will be taken to a "LibKey" screen with one or more Full Text Format Options on the right side. Select Article Link to go to a database that does have the full text.
  2. You will be taken to Research@UWW. To see whether an article, chapter, book, video, etc. is available look in the:
    1. View Online section to see if there is a link to the item in one of the libraries' subscription databases.
    2. Get It section to see if there are other ways to access the full text of the article.

    3. If you have a citation for something UWW does not have access to AND are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If:

    UW-Whitewater has it, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it. UW-Whitewater does NOT have it, go to the library homepage, select My Accounts, and Logon to ILLiad, then fill out the request form.

    In the Get It section you will see other ways to access the full text of the article. Either:

    UW-Whitewater has the item physically in one of the UWW libraries. If at your campus, you will go to the listed collection to get it. If at the other campus, use the "Request" option to have it sent to your campus. Some people who fit this set of criteria can use ILLiad to have articles or book chapters scanned as a PDFs for you to access online. UW-Whitewater does NOT have the needed item in one of the UWW libraries. Select Please sign in for more request options --> Sign in. Select UW-W Students / Staff Login >, and then Log in. Complete the multifactor authentication through Duo. Click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) for articles and chapters or UW-Request for books, media, government and other items.

    How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video

Database for Wisconsin Residents

Once you leave campus you can still access some databases that DPI provides to Wisconsin Residents. One is Academic Search Premier.

Search Tips

This Tips to Save you Time: Find Info Fast PowerPoint presentation provides an overview of the library research process and commonly used keyword search tips. Generally, you will start your research with keyword searches, so it is a good idea to memorize these tips. You can also look for resource specific tips, such as the truncation symbol and date range limit, on the help screens of the database(s) being used and on the Research@UWW: Search Tips guide.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian